Day 22: When Words Fail

See more at emilyburgerdesigns.com

I’m kind of at a loss for words tonight, so I’m sharing some quotes, mostly scripture, on rest. I hope they speak to you the words that escape me.

This is what the Sovereign Lord, the Holy One of Israel, says: “In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength, but you would have none of it.”  – Isaiah 30:15

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from Him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; He is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to Him, for God is our refuge.  – Psalm 62:1-2, 5-8

Thou hast made us for thyself, O Lord, and our hearts are restless until they find their rest in thee. – Saint Augustine

What thoughts on rest have you uncovered recently?

 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Rachelle Cox

     /  October 22, 2013

    Hah! I just read Ps. 62 the other day while trying to find a verse for a friend.

    Reply
  2. Ethel Mller

     /  October 23, 2013

    Another old song (anon) Looking Off Unto Jesus

    1. O eyes that are weary and hearts that are sore, Look off unto Jesus and sorrow no more; The light of His countenance shineth so bright, That on earth, as in heaven, there need be no night.
    2, “Looking off unto Jesus,” my spirit is blest; In the world I have turmoil — in Him I have REST; The sea of my life all about me may roar, When I look unto Jesus I hear it no more.
    3, “Looking off unto Jesus,” I go not astray; My eyes are on Him, and He shows me the way;
    The path may seem dark as He leads me along, But following Jesus I cannot go wrong.
    4. “Looking off unto Jesus,” my heart cannot fear, Its trembling is still when I see Jesus near; I know that His power my safeguard will be, For, “Why are ye troubled?” He saith unto me.
    5. Soon,soon shall I know the full beauty and grace, Of Jesus my Lord, when I stand face to face; I shall know how His love went before me each day, And wonder that ever my eyes turned away. Sung to the tune by Wm R Featherstone “Lord Jesus I love Thee”

    It’s a lot easier to sing it tnan to live it, but that is what we are trying to do. Thanks for your encouragement. Only a few more days and you can REST from this understaking. You are doing great and I always enjoy your postings.

    Reply
  3. Oh, I have had my words fail me in this 31 days of blogging at times. But I love this verse that you shared. My sister gave Seeds Family Worship CD’s to my kids last Christmas and the songs are all scripture verses. This is one of them. So, I can no longer read it without singing it. And I love that!
    I read Psalm 23 again yesterday with fresh eyes- what a sweet blessing! The Lord is my Shepherd, I LACK NOTHING!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 510 other followers

