Disturbed, Satisfied, and Enough

Why are you crying? C’mon, you can tell me. What’s wrong?

The last click of high school[Day155]*

Photo credit: Chapendra (Creative Commons)

Has anyone ever asked you this, but you couldn’t answer? More than that, you didn’t know the answer?

I can picture myself on the floor by my high school locker, with my best friend, Andre’, patiently trying to figure out what was going on.

Poor boy.
Like he could ever understand a teenage girl. He had no idea what was wrong.

Problem is, sometimes neither did I.

There was so much comfort when I discovered David’s words,

Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

David, king of Israel and called a man after God’s own heart, knew what it was like to be down and not fully understand why. Wow! As a confused, hormonal teen, that was music to my ears. Even today, that is so comforting.

Now look back at the beginning of the Psalm (verses 1-2):

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?

It all begins with desiring God as a basic necessity for life. Like water to a living thing. Do you remember, as a kid, how you would play and play, not thinking at all about food or drink, when suddenly it’s hits you – you’re starving! And you’re dying of thirst! That’s when drinking from the hose tasted the best (yeah, I know kids aren’t allowed to do that anymore and this blog does not endorse such behavior, blah, blah, blah). But it’s only after being that thirsty that the water tasted best.

I love this song that we sometimes sing in Karis Church, Satisfied in You. It’s one of those songs that I often have to sing as a prayer, because I’m not often in the place where I can say I’m satisfied in God. I want to be. But I’m often not there.

Yesterday, Justin and Trisha Davis posted The Most Important Question on their blog. Please click over and read the whole post, but in case you don’t, here’s the question: “Is Jesus enough?…Is he truly enough or do I desire the things he gives me more than I desire him? If everything else goes away…is Jesus enough?” The post goes on to list specific scenarios. You may find yourself in one or more of them. I did.

So where are you today? Disturbed and downcast? Satisfied and thirsting for God? A little of both?

Will you, with me, live these words from the song?

Let my sighs give way to songs that sing about Your faithfulness.
Let my pain reveal Your glory as my only real rest.
Let my losses show me all I truly have is You. Because all I truly have is You.

I’m linking up with

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Oh wow. I really liked this! I think the visual of the drinking out of the hose as a metaphor for our thirst for God after “playing” and neglecting Him for so long is really good! And that question, is Jesus enough- I think He asks me that a lot! Glad I clicked your link!

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you clicked as well! I hope you got a chance to read Justin Davis’s whole post on “is Jesus enough?” – it’s very good.

      Reply
  2. It is so good to see you again! I’ve missed you!! And what good words. Is Jesus enough? I believe He is so enough but I know too often I don’t live as though I believe. I know right now I have such a thirst for Him. I really, really loved this. Thanks for sharing it with Three Word Wednesday. I’m hoping on over to Justin Davis’s post now…
    Much love,
    Beth

    Reply
  3. Visiting you from the Three Word Wednesday. I know that Jesus is enough, yet I often want to fill up my life with so many other things. They are just temporary satisfactions. My prayer is that God would cause me to hunger and thirst for Him. Nothing else will ever satisfy me.

    Reply
  4. Rachelle Cox

     /  November 21, 2013

    That song is awesome. Also, I totally feel you on this post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • I'm on a journey to grow closer to God. Let's walk together along the path for awhile! Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my blog in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 597 other followers

  • What I’ve been tweeting lately:

  • Check these out:

    The Wall Around Your Heart 31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2013 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 597 other followers

