I’ve Been Preapproved

To be preapproved means this: We love from our approval, not for our approval. We love without expecting anything in return. – Jennifer Dukes Lee

PreapprovedI just finished reading Love Idol by Jennifer Dukes Lee. The subtitle on the cover sums it up so well, “Letting go of your need for approval and seeing yourself through God’s eyes.”

So often today, we have blinded ourselves to who we really are. We strive and work to be accepted by parents, peers, bosses, and sometimes even strangers.  That longing for approval creates idols that replace God.

Love Idol reminds us that we don’t have to prove ourselves – we can’t, even. Much like a credit card offer, we have been preapproved by Christ. We are already accepted and loved. The book is a journey to help us gain freedom from the bondage of people pleasing, perfectionism, and approval seeking.

I wanted to really dig into Love Idol, but I didn’t quite get caught up in it as I’d hoped. Jennifer is a gifted writer, but that gift sometimes got in the way. At times, the description of the surroundings of a conversation were so brilliantly written, that I stumbled out of the story to focus on the scenario she just created, that I missed the reason the story was included and had to re-read the passage.

Despite that, I still would encourage people to read the book, but to do so with discernment (as we should with anything, really). I have a friend in mind who I think will enjoy the book and I look forward to passing it on.

Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. This book released early, so it’s available now at multiple online retailers. You can also join the Love Idol Movement on Facebook.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I think above all else, I appreciate an honest book review. Well done.

    Reply
    • It’s not easily done, at least by me, out of fear of hurting others. But that ties into the Love Idol as well, don’t you think>? Thank you.

      Reply
  2. dukeslee

     /  April 1, 2014

    Thank you so much for reading the book, for sharing your honest thoughts and critique, as well as the photo and our video. This book was my heart’s cry for freedom from our own “approval ratings.” I pray that it might bless your #preapproved heart.
    With appreciation, Jennifer Dukes Lee

    Reply
    • The Love Idol Movement on Facebook clearly shows how God is already helping others find freedom through your words. I look forward to seeing how God continues to use your ministry, Jennifer, and to reading your follow up thoughts after Lent, when you uncover the mirrors.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • I'm on a journey to grow closer to God. Let's walk together along the path for awhile! Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my blog in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 600 other followers

  • What I’ve been tweeting lately:

  • Check these out:

    The Wall Around Your Heart 31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2013 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

