Community: Outside Your Comfort Zone

lyrics for life

There are basically two ways to get community:

  1. You step out of your comfort zone and into someone else’s.
  2. You wait for someone else to leave their comfort zone and step into yours.

One Saturday in late April, five beautifully brave women and two toddlers stepped out of their comfort zones and into my home, while I stepped out of my comfort zone and hosted an (in) Real Life Conference.

What is the (in)Real Life Conference or (in)RL, you may ask? The conference that comes to you, the women behind (in)courage.me host a webcast on the last weekend in April and encourage women to meet together in homes across the country.

DSCF0002

The discussion centered around community and learning to tell your story. It’s an amazing thing that by one person opening up and sharing part of their story, others find the freedom to do the same. We end up in closer, more honest, community as a result. Through the course of the that Saturday, the six of us were able to share parts of our stories with each other. Even though I knew all the women on varying levels, I was thrilled to learn something new about each one of them as we shared.

DSCF0005

Earlier in April, my friend, Brooke, led a women’s training session for our church. She shared a great article by Paul Tripp that fit so well with the conference. In Who Knows You?, Tripp talks about two character qualities to shape your life by:

COURAGE OF LOVING HONESTY. “You will want relationships where truth can be spoken, where honesty lives, and where candor thrives. Truth should be spoken in love (Ephesians 4:15), but you won’t be afraid of what will be revealed about your heart and life.”

HUMILITY OF APPROACHABILITY. “When sins and weaknesses and failures are revealed about you, you won’t rise to your own defense. You won’t summon your inner defense lawyer and try to argue for your own righteousness. You will admit your need for help and run to where help can be found – Jesus Christ and the promise of a new heart.”

I highly recommend you read the whole article.

Don’t wait for someone else to break out of their comfort zone. Make the first step. Grab that courage and humility and dive into life where you can share your story and get to know someone else’s.

What can you do to build a deeper relationship with someone around you? What would be the first step to breaking out of your comfort zone?

**Thanks to a gracious host gift from Dayspring, I was able to offer these gorgeous Lyrics for Life plaques as giveaways to the women who attended the (in)RL Conference in my home. **

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ethel M Miller

     /  May 30, 2014

    Very challenging — that one you through at us. I read the whole post (as usual I read everything you post) and tried to connect with the 2 links, but was unable to open them. My guess is they are protected? In the setting you provided for a “safe”place for the ladies to share. But in the challenge, you MUST be discerning whom you bear your heart to. I’ve been burnt too many times. Still I understand the value I what you are encouraging us to do, so I am open to try. Thanks for letting me know what your ladies day was all about. Sounds like it was a success for those in attendance.

    Reply
  2. This is such a great post, because I’ve been struggling with this a lot recently. It’s always a pleasure to be in your home and get to know you better, and I still have my darling plaques in my living room!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • I'm on a journey to grow closer to God. Let's walk together along the path for awhile! Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my blog in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 603 other followers

  • What I’ve been tweeting lately:

  • Check these out:

    The Wall Around Your Heart 31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2013 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers

