A word to dwell on in 2011

Through some Twitter friends, I found Alece’s post at Grit and Glory encouraging her readers to develop a One Word 2011 – a word to spent time and energy on throughout the whole of the year. There have been some inspiring blog posts as a result. You can see them linked up in the post containing Alece’s word, here.

So where does that leave me? During this crazy, busy, first week of the year, I started mulling over words to choose. Words that I could soak in deeply as this year progresses. There were two I kept returning to again and again:

  • Focus. This one came pretty quickly, since I’ve already been thinking about how to be more focused in my life. To not let the year go by in a blur, but to have clear moments to remember. This includes being purposeful in all my endeavors. Since I have some goals for the year, this aligns with making progress in fulfilling them.
  • Do. Well, it is an action, right? Here’s where I get it:

    Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.
    (Philippians 4:9, King James Version)

    I learned this verse as a child and always liked the simplicity of it. Whatever you’ve learned, received, heard and seen – do that. (I’m tempted to mention a certain sportswear line’s motto, but I’ll refrain.) The NIV and ESV translate it as “put it into practice” and “practice these things,” respectively. I see this also fitting my goals and love the idea of this being a year of action, rather than inaction. Just think how much I could get done.

While both might be great words for another year, in the end, I discarded both. They are very “me” focused. All about my goals, my dreams and desires for 2011. I’m selfish enough without spending a year purposefully obsessing about myself. So again I ask, where does that leave me?

  • God.

This is my word. This is where I want to dwell. Every moment, every thought, every action in 2011 should be directed by, consumed with, and done for God alone. This would give me a year filled with focused, purposeful, and intentional doing, being, worshiping, living. Ultimately, I want God to be my priority in life. To be my waking thought and my evening dreams. I want God to be my reason for living. As it says in Acts 17:28, “in him we live and move and have our being.” There are so many verses I could pick that fit in with this. Interestingly, it’s the verse just before my “do” verse that really sums it all up:

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. (Philippians 4:8, English Standard Version)

My desire for my One Word 2011 is that I will continue to focus on God in my life, developing a “taste” for him and soaking him into as many aspects of life as possible.

Will you join me? Share with me if you choose a word for 2011. Regardless of what your word is, find ways to keep God as the focus of whatever you do this year.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Found your blog through the one word daily. We should all want God to be our word. When we focus on him everything else seems to fall into place. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Reply
  2. Found you on Alece’s site. Great post!

    My word: FORWARD

    Reply
  3. beautiful!

    “I want God to be my priority in life”… i think many of us will learn so much by watching you live this out this year in practical ways.

    Reply
  1. God: a reverse “where’s waldo?” « Claygirlsings

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

