An Attitude of Gratitude

What are you thankful for?

We flew home yesterday, having missed the midwest blizzards due to our well-timed vacation in Florida. Imagine our surprise and joy to turn onto our street and discover that, instead of having to shovel our driveway before we could pull our car in, the driveway was clear of all 17.7 inches! A group of wonderful people from Karis Community Church came and shoveled our driveway for us!

This has put me in a spirit of gratitude, so tonight I simply want to focus on God’s provision in my life and the people and things he is using to bless our family. Here, in no apparent order, are several things that quickly come to mind.

  • I’m grateful for what turned into an 8 day visit in Florida with my sister and her family. They are currently raising funds to go to Japan as church planters and my time with them before they leave is limited.
  • Hearty laughter is good for the soul, right? My sister and I played hours of games on this visit. We both like speed games, which brought a lot of laughs, including one round of Scrabble Slam that had us in hysterics.
  • I am thankful for a husband who works hard to provide for our family, even when he’s not feeling well. He’s struggled with back problems for years; but he doesn’t just sit on his butt and whine, he’s out there making contacts and putting his clients ahead of himself.
  • My health is actually pretty good. I deal with some allergies and hypothyroidism but no major illnesses or diseases that limit my activities. I’ve never broken a bone or had any surgery requiring a hospital stay.
  • My mother and father loved each other and raised my sister and I as best they knew how. They taught us to love God and others around us. They were real – I remember the day that I discovered they weren’t perfect, but I still love them and appreciate them.
  • My middle school best friend, Tina, is someone who greatly impacted my life. Any craziness in me I attribute to her. Once we were established as the best of friends, she shared with me that our Sunday School teacher had asked her to befriend me when I was new. She didn’t expect us to really get along but was friendly as asked. What a surprise when we discovered that we were a great blend of silly and serious. Okay, mostly silly. Tina, I’m indebted to you. I think every friendship I’ve had since has been affected by your friendship.
  • Some of the men of God who have challenged & strengthened my faith: My Dad, who was my pastor until he retired when I was in middle school; former youth leader, Rob McGuire; LU college professor, James Borland; and Jerry Kroll, pastor of Heritage Baptist Church.
  • I am also thankful for my current church family at Karis Community Church and the leadership there. It’s exciting to see what God is doing with a young congregation who want to serve him in The District.
  • I’m grateful to have a creative streak. Whether it’s writing, sculpting, cutting, painting, I enjoy it all. I may not be good at it all – my high school art teacher declared that I failed in Glue – but I love the act of creating.
  • And finally, for this post at least, thank you for being here. Thank you for reading and commenting and participating in this blog experience. I’m already overwhelmed by how many people have read my posts. I so appreciate your comments whether here on the blog or through other social media and even in person. Thank you.

It’s your turn. Would you share at least one thing that you’re thankful for?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Janice I am enjoying your blog thoughts! Keep them coming! Hope Tom feels better soon!

    Reply
  2. Ha! Thanks for the reminder to list our blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

