Remember his death, but do not sorrow

“Good Friday” is over and done. Jesus is dead and buried in the tomb. The women will observe Sabbath tomorrow and return to the tomb early Sunday morning to properly anoint the body with spices. Close friends are in mourning.

That was the scene 2000+ years ago. I symbolically walked some of those same steps today in remembrance. Tonight at Karis Church, my spirit was broken and crushed by the weight of my sin. The vile acts of gossip, envy, lust, pride, anger, dissension – these, and more, are my crimes; these evil, disgusting things I slop around in like a pig in mud.

We come broken and we come undone.
We come trying hard to love everyone.
But we come up short, in all that we do
Because we do, we come to you.

Jesus was perfect, the spotless Lamb. He wasn’t enduring a criminal’s death for his own sins. It was my sin that held him there, until it was accomplished. He paid the full penalty of my sins.

And yet, tonight as we took communion together – remembering his body crushed, beaten, bruised, and his life blood spilled out and used up – the call to embrace with joy – JOY! – the forgiveness of sin, the freedom of accepting grace. We don’t remember in loss and defeat. We remember in celebration. Jesus is no longer in the tomb. The women found it empty, no body to embalm. Weeping turned to rejoicing.

So tonight and tomorrow, remember his death, but do so with hope and joy for the tomb is now empty.

He is not here, he is risen!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

