My sin is great; God’s grace is greater

This week I’ve worked on a couple of crafty projects – sanding and painting to make a shelf for our kitchen and making a no-sew ruffled scarf (in MU gold, too!). I wish I’d bookmarked the link to that one. And another flower pin is cut and lies ready to be put together.

But in the middle of it all, I’m still ruminating, as it were, over this past weekend. Over Easter.

Friday night, minutes before the start of the Good Friday gathering, Tom and I had a minor disagreement. Not even that, just a miscommunication really. He had to serve & the service was about to begin, so we had to just drop it. Thanks to modern technology, we texted things out over the next 10 minutes and everything was fine by the time the service began.

But…

In the moments before that 10 minute window, I wallowed. My husband doesn’t care. Doesn’t he know I am already having a hard time with other issues and then he throws this at me? Around me I heard friends visiting with one another cheerily. No one cares. I am alone. It only took seconds before I saw the absurdity of my thoughts. How small and selfish and vain my heart is. In that instant, I was broken. Here I came to remember the suffering, agony and shame that Jesus Christ experienced dying on the cross for the sins of the world, and here I proved yet again, why he died for me. I can’t even come to church and not sin! The truth rang loudly:  nothing I do is ever good enough, nothing I bring is ever worthy enough, nothing I say is powerful enough to forgive my sins, to cleanse me of the blood-guilt.

Here grace steps in. God, in his grace, offers me what I do not deserve and could never earn. God generously gives his son, the only one perfect sacrifice, to pay the debt I owe for my vile actions. Jesus willingly allowed himself to be crucified, for me. He rose again from the dead, for me.

This blows me away.

Bianca Juarez posted today about grace, at her blog, In the Name of Love. I want you to watch this video that she posted, but I encourage you to go to her blog and read her full post.

What hit me like a ton of bricks was his sentence, “I cannot pay my debt,” and the realization that my debt is as great as this mans. No less atrocious in the eyes of a holy, pure and righteous God. And I, too, am forgiven.

Doesn’t that just blow your mind?!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. ETHEL MILLER

     /  May 1, 2011

    Your “confession” touched me deeply. I am so thankful that you have such a tender heart for the Lord and can be entreated so easily. You are a blessing to me and many others. I know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

