With a heavy heart

I don’t have anything profound to say. Tonight my heart is heavy for so many people around me who are burdened with heavy loads of worry or sorrow or heartache.

For the mom who carried her beautiful boy to full term and lost him before he took his first breath.

For the husband and wife who are barely hanging on to their marriage.

For the single lady who waits for someone to show her love.

For the friend who is watching a dream fall away.

For the woman whose womb remains empty.

For the man who is struggling against an addiction.

For the friend whose health issues repeatedly baffle physicians.

For the wife who silently cries herself to sleep next to a husband who no longer notices her.

For the husband who desperately wants to reach out to a wife who feels so distant.

For the mom, overwhelmed with routines and schedules, who longs for a little relief.

Sigh.

What can I offer that provides peace and comfort? The only thing I can know is that God is still in control. That he has not and will not leave you, even when it feels like you are alone. God is sovereign and he is working all this out in his will. That someday this will all make sense or someday the answers will no longer matter, though that day may not come on this earth, yet it will come. That God is faithful.

These words may not feel comforting tonight, but hang onto them. Search the scriptures and soak up God’s promises. Trust the fact that he is truth, even if you don’t feel like you can ever trust again.

A song came on my iPod while I was typing this up by Todd Agnew. Here are the words of comfort I was searching for. Hold these close:

But you’re always there when I turn around,
Even though I’ve been running for so long.
But you’re always there when I cry out,
Even when I’ve been silent for so long.
But you’re always there when I need you.
I need you.

If these words touch a tender spot in your heart tonight, then my prayer is for you.

Father, wrap these wounded souls in your arms. Remind them of your constant presence with them. They are not alone. Grant courage and strength to the weary-hearted. Shower your grace in such a flood that they are overwhelmed with it. With you. May the peace of God which transcends all understanding guard their hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Amen.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. amen and amen… may the Lord bless you.

    Reply
  2. Courtney

     /  May 11, 2011

    This is touchin, Janice. Thankfully, I only fall into one or two of these categories, but several of my friends currently fall into some of the others. I appreciate this post very much.

    Reply
    • Thanks. A friend also reminded me of Psalm 34:18. “The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.”

      Reply
  3. Courtney

     /  May 11, 2011

    Ugh, typos. I meant “touching.” 🙂

    Reply
  4. YES. this is so beautiful.

    Reply
  5. Another reason why I love you. Such a compassionate, tender heart that does not sugar coat the truth yet knows how to love boundlessly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

