God: a reverse “where’s waldo?”

Alece at Grit & Glory challenged us with a mid-year check up of our One Word 2011. Here’s my original post from January.

If you didn’t click the link, my word was simple, yet huge:  God. And wow, am I finding him everywhere. It’s like a reverse Where’s Waldo? page, sort of like this:

I’m finding God. Everywhere.

There have been some dark roads to travel, maybe not as dark as some, but dark enough for me. He’s been there.

I’ve fought through the heartache of unrealized dreams. He’s there.

In moments of joy and in the company of others. God’s there, too, laughing along with us.

Facing sin in my life, head-on; he’s there.

Struggling in the midst of loneliness. Who’s there? Oh, yeah. God.

We celebrated a wedding this weekend that was so full of love – the groom for the bride, the bride for the groom, the attendees for the wedded couple but, most importantly, God’s love for his people. Marriage is to be a picture to the world of God’s love for us. In the joy & excitement of these two dear friends, I found myself in conversation with God throughout the day. Even when a heart-crushing word stole my happy feeling of the day, I was still drawn to God in that moment, recognizing my prideful attitude and desire to nurse the wound rather than let it go. Later, fighting the same sin that trips me up again & again, more often I’m calling out to God and doing so more quickly, begging for his mercy and grace to do what I find I cannot.

So, it’s been a good 1/2 year and a tough 1/2 year. And I echo these lyrics, “I know there’ll be days, when this life brings me pain. But if that’s what it takes to praise you, Jesus, bring the rain.”

 

——-

I’m linking up with Walking in His Grace

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. your heart is so encouraging. love you!

    Reply
  2. I love the reverse Waldo imagery!

    Reply
  3. I love this post.. I am also finding God everywhere this year! I suppose He is always everywhere.. I just really started paying attention this year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 756 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

