Embracing the Gifts

Rainy days in Mrs. Robert’s 4th grade meant the chance to play Heads Up Seven Up. My eyes tightly shut and head down on my desk, I’d wait and listen. If footsteps came close, I might be picked; I had to be ready and I did NOT want to make a mistake. Sometimes, though, in the quiet room, the darkness behind my eyes would make me sleepy and I would drift off.

I’m learning that I need to watch just as intently for the gifts that God gives me every day. I miss so many by drifting off into the dulling routine of daily life. Eyes closed, I’m blind to the gifts around me.

Assisting me in opening my eyes is the joy dare, found at A Holy Experience. Here are just a few gifts that I’ve noticed around me this week.

Tom’s niece, Katlin, who visited us while on break from OU. Of course, we had to show her the Magic Tree.

A 60 degree day in January became the perfect time for a photo walk.

My “babies” who comfort me and make me laugh.

Quality time via a roadtrip with my husband all weekend.

How many other gifts I must have missed. Look around you. What gifts do you see?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thank you, Janice. I enjoy reading your postings. I’m not sure if I have responded to be a member. I don’t have a record of any password I may have given.

    Love the pictures and your “special ” but oh, so easy to take for granted things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

