Grace: A Gift for Easter and Every Day

Grace blows me away.

I can’t fathom the fullness of it. I can’t manufacture grace for my own failings, but there’s sufficient grace for whatever depths to which I’ve fallen.

Jon Acuff posted this on Twitter today, “The only thing I’ve found bigger than the depth of my own sin is the cross Christ died on for it.”

And as Tracee Persiko said so well in her Good Friday blog post, “I am feeling the weight of grace today. I am feeling the weight that grace extended to me by God was unmerited, undeserved, and unearn-able.”

I love that we can all struggle to comprehend grace together. I doubt we’ll ever fully grasp it on this side of heaven.

Listen to this new song by Jimmy Needham. Catch the surrender in the lyrics, admitting weakness and giving up completely to grace.

If I ever needed grace, it’s now. You are strong when I am weak somehow.
I am weak enough to see I need you to cover me. If I ever needed grace, it’s now.

Lastly, a song that pierced me through when sung at our Good Friday gathering at Karis Church, God Be Merciful To Me. You can listen to part of the song at Indelible Grace (it’s the third song in the list, but they’re all good).

Let these lyrics soak into your soul this Easter:

God, be merciful to me; On Thy grace I rest my plea
Plenteous in compassion Thou, Blot out my transgressions now;
Wash me, make me pure within; Cleanse, O cleanse me from my sin.

My transgressions I confess; Grief and guilt my soul oppress.
I have sinned against Thy grace, And provoked Thee to Thy face.
I confess Thy judgement just; Speechless, I Thy mercy trust.

I am evil, born in sin; Thou desirest truth within.
Thou alone my Savior art, Teach Thy wisdom to my heart;
Make me pure, Thy grace bestow, Wash me whiter than the snow.

Broken, humbled to the dust, By Thy wrath and judgement just,
Let my contrite heart rejoice, And in gladness hear Thy voice;
From my sins O hide Thy face, Blot them out in boundless grace.

Gracious God, my heart renew, Make my spirit right and true.
Cast me not away from Thee, Let Thy Spirit dwell in me;
Thy salvation’s joy impart, Steadfast make my willing heart.

Sinners then shall learn from me, And return, O God, to Thee
Savior all my guilt remove, And my tongue shall sing Thy love
Touch my silent lips, O Lord, And my mouth shall praise accord.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Geek Alabama

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 753 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

