Penny for your thoughts

How much are your thoughts worth today? What value would you place on them?

I started this post listing out all the self-chatter that goes on in my head in any given day. It consisted primarily of berating myself, complaining about anything  everything, fantasizing, and comparing. They weren’t very valuable thoughts. You probably don’t need to hear my chatter because I’d bet there’s a personalized live stream in your own head.
I’m right, aren’t I?

Is your channel on 24/7, too?

What if, instead of this harmful chattering to ourselves all day, our thoughts were turned into prayers directed to the Lord? Would it change what we said or how we said it? Would it change what we were thinking?

I imagine my thoughts would shift from, “I wish someone else would feed these cats,” to sound something more like, “Lord, thank you for an animal I can care for. Thank you for putting me in dominion over creation that you have made. Thank you for creating such a unique/clever/silly being as the cat!”

Rants over not fitting into my clothes the way I want would become confession over not treating my body as the temple of God and honoring him with what I eat or what I do.

Lord, my thoughts should be turned to you, making “Pray without ceasing” a reality in my life.

I recently discovered this also helps with those tempting thoughts that turn sinful before I’m even consciously aware of them. It’s not something I’ve mastered, but shifting my thoughts to scripture or to prayer may be the key to banishing those thoughts thoroughly.  Of course, the crucial moment is knowing this can’t be done in my own strength. I must recognize that any chance for victory happens only when I give up completely and surrender to God to work in me.

If you attend Karis, you’ll already be familiar with Gungor; but for many of you this song will be new. I’ve shared it recently with struggling or grieving friends; but for me this song is what I call out in desperation for healing and wholeness.

I’m looking for a place where I can plant my faith. One thing I know for sure: I cannot create it and I cannot sustain it. It’s your love that’s keeping me. Please be my strength, because I don’t have any more.


I challenge you to be aware of your internal dialogue as you go through your day.  If the value of your thoughts isn’t what you would like it to be, turn those thoughts into prayers to God and watch their worth increase.

Do you have any other suggestions to share?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. This is from one of my favorite books, “The Practice of the Presence of God” by Brother Lawrence (circa 1500s) who found intimacy with God while washing the dishes just as much as kneeling at the altar.

    “We might accustom ourselves to a continual conversation with Him with freedom and in simplicity. We need only to recognize God intimately present with us and address ourselves to Him every moment. We need to beg His assistance for knowing His will in things doubtful and for rightly performing those which we plainly see He requires of us, offering them to Him before we do them, and giving Him thanks when we have completed them.

    In our conversation with God we should also engage in praising, adoring, and loving Him incessantly for His infinite goodness and perfection. Without being discouraged on account of our sins, we should pray for His grace with a perfect confidence, as relying upon the infinite merits of our Lord.”

    Reply
  1. How to (not) be miserable « Claygirlsings

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

