Following a Guide you cannot see

My feet shuffle a little closer to the edge. Small rocks bounce wildly down the ravine. I’m on the verge of something here.

God is at work in my heart. Perhaps I should also say God has been at work in my heart. I can look back and see the path that led me here today. But I can’t quite see the way down. It’s scary, this not-knowing; and it’s hard to step forward when you don’t know where you are going.

They needed to cross to the other side of the gorge. They tried the one way they thought would work, but the guards drove them back into the woods. Lucy had said that Aslan wanted them to go the other direction. The way that didn’t make sense. The other Pevensie children didn’t see Aslan; Lucy was probably just dreaming that she had seen him. But after their difficult day, maybe they should trust that Aslan really was there. Lucy believed it so strongly. Following the invisible lion was tricky; but they discovered that Lucy was, in fact, finding the perfect trail down to the bottom and back up the other side. One by one, they began to see that it was Aslan leading them.*

Much like the Pevensies needing to trust that Aslan is showing Lucy the true path to the bottom, I must trust in what I cannot yet see. God has multiple promises in the Bible indicating that he has/is/will continue to lead us.

You have led in your steadfast love the people whom you have redeemed; you have guided them by your strength to your holy abode. – Exodus 15:13

For you are my rock and my fortress; and for your name’s sake you lead me and guide me; you take me out of the net they have hidden for me, for you are my refuge. – Psalm 31:3-4

Make me to know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long. – Psalm 25:4-5

Today I contacted a small group of close friends and asked for their prayer support as I take the next step. I still don’t know where my foot will land; but I trust the One who is guiding me in His truth. It is scary, this not-knowing. But I believe that where he will lead me is for my good and his glory.

If you find yourself on a similar precipice, trust God to guide you. If you can’t see him, then watch the Christians around you. Ask them to show you their guide.

*paraphrased from Prince Caspian by C. S. Lewis

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

