The Father is listening

My father was a wonderful man. He died, at the age of 78, 20 years ago today on July 2, 1992. I wish you could have known him. Dad showed me Jesus. He modeled for me the love that God the Father has for me. He showed me what a godly man should be like.

On Father’s Day this year, my junior high best friend posted this in her Facebook status:

To Walter J., dad to my friend Janice. Thank you for showing me a father who can lead their family in a Godly way, for showing me a dad who cherishes his daughters. You are missed.

Sitting by Dad & my sister on the big armchair. Christmas 1975.

As a little girl, I often wandered into our living room and found Dad kneeling on the floor in front of one of our big arm chairs. He was literally on his knees before the Lord in prayer. In that tender way only little girls can do, I would creep up next to him, get on my knees, and slip my arm through his.

It never startled him; it never appeared to interrupt him. The only change was that he would start praying out loud so I could hear him.

Did he change what he was praying about because suddenly a little girl was listening?

Possibly.
I don’t know.
Probably.

But he never pushed me away or told me not to bother him when he prayed. Instead he showed this little girl that God was accessible even to her. At any time I paused from my playing, l knew God would be listening.

God is still listening today. He’s waiting for me and for you to stop playing around with the things of this world to turn to him with our cares and our needs.

Do you have a place, like that armchair, where you go to pray?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Love this – nothing like a Godly father as an example.

    Reply
  1. Day 6: When You Are Tired « Claygirlsings
  2. Day 16: When Drowning In Grief « Claygirlsings

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

