Day 2: When Everything Is Taken Away

In the middle of an afternoon of baking, I suddenly dropped to my knees, overwhelmed by the meaning of this song.

It’s Job, the guy who had it all – land, wealth, children, respect. And, in the space of a breath, everything is ripped away.

Job mourns, he even questions God; but he refuses to curse God or blame him. He finally gets to the point where he gives God all the praise. Imagine, in the middle of complete loss, with loved ones gone, possessions gone, and health taken away; he can say, “May the name of the Lord be praised!”

And I think I have it hard.

Here’s the bit that brought me to my knees:

You were the one who filled my cup
And you are the one who let it spill
So blessed be your holy name
If you never fill it up again
If this where my story ends
Just give me one more breath to say
HALLELUJAH!

Listen to the song. It’s a slow build; because you have to fully envelop the despair, agony and hurt before reaching fully abandoned worship.

The orchestration follows the journey fantastically. Turn the volume up.


I’m blown away.

It’s where I want to be, rather than where I think I am at the moment. It’s a prayer for growth, to get to that point when everything else is loss and God alone is gain.

~~~~~~~~~~

This is Day 2 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting (click to find links to the entire series). If you know someone who would be encouraged by this song, would you share this post with them?

To read more great 31 Dayer posts, check out the linky hosted by The Nester.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. such a beautiful post and the song is amazing! i’m really looking forward to reading every single one of your posts! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ethel Miller

     /  October 2, 2012

    What a powerful message in that song.. It lifted me up and helped me to be thankful for where I am now. I’ll be looking forward to what you will share with us this month. Bless you, Janice.

    Reply
  3. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 4, 2013

    May the Lord bless you for blessing me with this song today! I was feeling bad about many things, including not reading your blog months earlier. Today, I believe my procrastination ended at a time I needed to hear (and read) this message most. Thank you for sharing-and for the opportunity for me to pass it forward for others in need of it as well. xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

