Day 4: When Failure Sinks Your Ships

creative commons photo credit: John-Malone on Flickr

My sister and I loved to play Battleship as kids. It was such a challenge to find the right spot so she wouldn’t guess where my ships were!

You sunk my battleship!

But, did you ever try to play Battleship by yourself? Playing both sides, you sink all the battleships fairly quickly, since you know where they are. It’s a game you can’t win.

I shared recently about a theater audition that I screwed up in high school, where my fear led to failing the audition. So often we lead ourselves to failure by sinking all of our ships. As if I revealed where my ships were placed to my sister – I would lose every time.

But other times, we give our all, doing our best work, and we still fail in the end. It makes you just want to give up. I know I’m not alone in feeling this way. We all feel it at times.

Dear God,

There are days when I (and I know others as well) feel like failures. Where it seems the best we can do is not anywhere close to good enough.

or

Where through our own insecurities, we sabotage ourselves before a project even begins.

Often we personalize the failure of a project or mission as a failure of ourselves. It was we who were not good enough.

Ah, but isn’t that the blessed truth? In myself I am not good enough, but my pride makes me work and push and drive to succeed on my own. I see now that my failures show me that I do not have it in me to be perfect. My best attempts will always end up in failure of one kind or another.

To remind me I need a Savior.

You succeeded where I will always fail. You say, be holy, for I am holy, knowing that I cannot be holy without you.

My failures should not draw me inward, cursing my faults. They should draw me upward, thanking you for doing above and beyond (what we at work would call “other duties as assigned”).

You saw my weakness and failures and sent your Son, Jesus, to sacrifice his perfection for my lack thereof. Help us to remember that and, like Paul, be able to rejoice in our weakness. Rejoice in our failure.

Today, God, we need to find joy in our failures, to remember the gift of Jesus that covers where we don’t measure up, and to turn to you to fulfill our need for success and perfection.

With love and gratitude for the sacrifice of your son, Jesus,
Amen

~~~~~~~~~~

This is Day 4 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting (click to find links to the entire series). If you know someone who would appreciate this prayer, would you share this post with them? If you are dealing with failure and wish to share it in the comments, I will pray for you today.

To read more great 31 Dayer posts, check out the original site, hosted by The Nester.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 4, 2013

    As I took a walk today by myself, for myself I began to meditate on my insecurities trying to hear the answers thru the silence needed to improve situations I would like to see become better, happier for me and others.

    Today, God, we need to find joy in our failures, to remember the gift of Jesus that covers where we don’t measure up, and to turn to you to fulfill our need for success and perfection.

    With love and gratitude for the sacrifice of your son, Jesus,
    Amen

    I think I found the answers in this blog. xoxo

    Reply
  1. 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting « Claygirlsings

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

