Day 5: When The Pain Won’t Stop

Pain that cannot forget
falls drop by drop
upon the heart
until in our despair
there comes wisdom
through the awful grace of God.

– Aeschylus

Why is there pain? Why do certain people live with pain every day of their lives? Why are others spared that gnawing ache?

I don’t have answers here. Only questions.

There are scads of books on the subject. I think the best one I’ve read is Where Is God When It Hurts, by Phillip Yancey. I’m not equipped with the wisdom or knowledge to offer explanations or reasons here.

If you are one such person who lives with chronic pain, let me pray for you today.

Oh God,

My heart goes out to so many people who don’t know what a day without pain feels like.

  • Friends who suffer from debilitating headaches day after day.
  • My husband who has back pain every waking moment.
  • An older woman with gnarled arthritic hands struggling to do simple tasks.
  • A young mom who’s in agony because her body won’t allow her to keep up with her kids.

It seems the longer I sit and think, the more I can link chronic pain issues to specific people I know with:

  • Fibromyalgia
  • Migraines
  • Neck issues
  • Knee pain
  • Lupus
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Kidney problems
  • Gastrointestinal issues

The first thing that comes to mind is “Why?” Yet I know that one’s not so easy for us to grasp.

So, God, please help replace the “why” with a whispered, “I will trust you.” Help my friends who suffer with chronic pain to find ways to surrender to you in the midst of it. Let them grow more aware of you through the pain. Use the pain to help them minister to others.

Dear Lord, above all, I pray for healing. I pray for doctors and scientists who are researching the body and medicines and treatments. May they be guided by you to new therapies and cures. Give my friends a reprieve from their pain, for a day, for a year, and for the rest of their lives. Ultimately, I know that we are promised eternal healing and that one day:

“He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Revelation 21:4-5 (emphasis mine)

We eagerly await that day, when all will be new. Until then, we ask for that “awful grace of God” to bring relief.

In Jesus’ name,
Amen

~~~~~~~~~~

This is Day 5 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting (click to find links to the entire series). If you know someone who suffers from chronic pain who would appreciate this prayer, would you share this post with them? If you deal with chronic pain and wish to share it, I will pray for you today.

To read more great 31 Dayer posts, check out the original site, hosted by The Nester.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Your post brought tears to my eyes. Having fibro for 15 years has taught me the deep truths that your words celebrate

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much for the prayer. Richly blessed and humbled to soak in these dear words poured out at the Throne for me. So glad you told me about it! {squeeze}

    Reply
  3. Amy

     /  October 30, 2012

    this is a beautiful prayer that i thought about today as i went for neck therapy. thankfully more of my days now are “i will trust” over the fewer “why” days. praise God. thanks for posting this!

    Reply
  4. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 4, 2013

    I took time after reading this message to pray for those who posted here and for those I also know suffering from many different physical pains and for some of us who suffer more in silencce from emotional pain, grief and loss of loved ones as well as our dreams. I am thankful for doctors and massage therapists who devote their lives to healing others sometimes risking their own health and comfort to do this. I wish I could be a healer of all but I know I cannot be so for now ‘I will trust’.

    Reply
  1. 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting « Claygirlsings

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

