Day 8: When You Cannot Find The Words

Today, I find my heart is distressed. I cannot do anything but cry out to God. What better cry than some of the prayers given to us from God, through men who loved him. If this resonates with you, pray these prayers with me today.

Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer. From the ends of the earth I call to you,
I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
For you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the foe.
I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings.
For you, God, have heard my vows; you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.  Psalm 61:1-5

Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. I cling to you; your right hand upholds me.  Psalm 63:7-8

Keep me safe, my God, for in you I take refuge. I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.” Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup; You have made my lot secure. The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; Surely I have a delightful inheritance. I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; Even at night my heart instructs me. I have set the Lord always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken. ~Psalm 16:1-2 & 5-8

Praying Hands

Praying Hands (Photo credit: C Jill Reed)

Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me, for in you my soul takes refuge;
in the shadow of your wings I will take refuge, till the storms of destruction pass by.
I cry out to God Most High, to God who fulfills his purpose for me. Psalm 57:1-2

And now, O Lord, for what do I wait? My hope is in you. Deliver me from all my transgressions. Do not make me the scorn of the fool! I am mute; I do not open my mouth, for it is you who have done it. Remove your stroke from me; I am spent by the hostility of your hand. When you discipline a man with rebukes for sin, you consume like a moth what is dear to him; surely all mankind is a mere breath! Selah

Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear to my cry; hold not your peace at my tears! For I am a sojourner with you, a guest, like all my fathers. Look away from me, that I may smile again, before I depart and am no more!” Psalm 39:7-13

~~~~~~~~~~

Are there prayers in scripture you turn to when your words run out? I would love to hear them in the comments.

This is Day 8 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting (click to find links to the entire series).
To read more great 31 Dayer posts, check out the original site, hosted by The Nester.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Beautiful scripture references. There are times when are hearts are overwhelmed. It is such a blessing to be able to pray these scriptures. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. OMGoodness! I just posted on my page about praying the scriptures! Would you mind if I link this post on my page? It is exactly what I was talking about! Thanks for visiting my page! I love all these 31 days of prayer and others – I’ve been checking out a few of them each day.

    Reply
  3. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 5, 2013

    Great scriptures to remember. Too often I lose my words when trying to pray and I fall asleep hoping God will just know and understand what is in my heart.

    Reply
  1. 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting « Claygirlsings
  2. Challenge for today: Think of someone who needs your help. « THE SURF REPORT

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

