Day 14: When Praise Is All You Can Muster

The first time I met the woman who would become my mother-in-law, she was quite blunt with me.

Because his mom was visiting, Tom had invited a bunch of friends to his house after church to hang out (he and I were only friends at that time).  Being of a melancholy disposition, I was kind of bummed that night – for no particular reason. When his mom asked me if I was coming, I indicated that I wasn’t really feeling like being around people. And she said, this woman I’d only just met,

You just need to go praise the Lord!”

Excuse me? Who do you think you are?

I didn’t say this, not wanting to be rude, but really!?! I politely ended the conversation with a vague, “We’ll see,” and left church.

God is so cool when he works in weird, off-putting ways like this. I couldn’t get her words out of my head, so I drove around town for a while listening to worshipful music and praising God. Thirty minutes later, I showed up at Tom’s place and told his mom she was right.

Sometimes, when we are down,

when nothing is going right,

when we don’t know what step to take next,

the best thing to do is spend time with God. Praising him for having everything under control, for being who he is – the I AM.

Hand raised in worship

Hand raised in worship (Photo credit: KOREphotos)

When you’re up against a struggle
That shatters all your dreams
And your hopes been cruelly crushed
By Satan’s manifested schemes.
And you feel the urge within you
To submit to earthly fears
Don’t let the faith you’re standing in
Seem to disappear.

Praise the Lord!
He can work through those who praise him.
Praise the Lord!
For our God inhabits praise.
Praise the Lord!
For the chains that seem to bind you,
Serve only to remind you
That they fall powerless behind you,
When you praise him.

Now Satan is a liar and he wants to make us think
That we are paupers, when he knows himself
We’re children of the king.
So lift up the mighty shield of faith
For the battle must be won
We know that Jesus Christ has risen
So the work’s already done.

Praise the Lord!
He can work through those who praise him.
Praise the Lord!
For our God inhabits praise.
Praise the Lord!
For the chains that seem to bind you,
Serve only to remind you
That they fall powerless behind you,
When you praise him.

It had been years since I heard or even thought about this song, until the Dove Awards earlier this year honored Russ Taff, former lead singer of the Imperials. Such powerful words for such a powerful God.

Spend some time in prayer today, praising our God. It will not change the circumstance you find yourself in; but you will find hope in remembering that “Jesus Christ has risen, so the work’s already done.”

Praise Him!

~~~~~~~~~~

This is Day 14 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting (click to find links to the entire series).
To read more great 31 Dayer posts, check out the original site, hosted by The Nester.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 5, 2013

    This message brought tears to my eyes-I will always remember it, and Tom’s words to you also that helped so much. I never met his mom but those words to you, that you just shared with so many here are a great legacy for her to leave behind. I am sure they will help many.

    Reply
  1. 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting « Claygirlsings

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

