Day 16: When Drowning In Grief

Some posts touch you more closely than others. At some point this month, I’d hoped to do a day of prayer for people who have lost a loved one; but this has hit so close to home recently:

  • A colleague where I work unexpectedly passed away last Monday.
  • My college roommate’s darling father went to be with the Lord just Saturday.
  • A couple of months ago, a good friend lost her baby in a miscarriage.

Slightly more removed, but still tender:

Grief. It hits each one of us differently; yet we’re bonded by shared loss. Kelly Youngblood shared a very thoughtful post on Sunday about loss and tragedy that does such a good job of probing through the pain we go through.

Grief

Grief (Photo credit: That One Chick Mary)

To the God of all comfort:

Goodbyes are so hard, especially when they are the forever kind. We don’t see time the same way you do – it drags on so slowly for those of us left behind. Sorrow pierces through even the brightest of days and a laugh suddenly, unexpectedly, ends in a sob.

God, help us to turn to you in these sorrowful days. Give us the comfort of the Holy Spirit, reminding us of your continued presence while our hearts feel so achingly the absence of the one who is gone. Help us to remember the good days, to celebrate the life that you gave them while on this earth. Remind us to make the most of our time, as we are not promised tomorrow.

Thank you for the knowledge that, among Christians, death is not an ending. It is not a final goodbye. We shall, one day, be united with those who have gone before us. And in the meantime, while we suffer and work here on earth, that loved one is already worshiping You face-to-face! Thank you for the comfort in that.

And as we have received comfort from you, let us look for people around us who are likewise hurting, and offer them the comfort that can only come from you.

In the name of Jesus, who has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows,
Amen

~~~~~~~~~~

This is Day 16 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting (click to find links to the entire series).
To read more great 31 Dayer posts, check out the original site, hosted by The Nester.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 5, 2013

    In my grief I thank the Lord for giving me the opportunity to share in the lives of my loved ones now passed over-there are far too many who I miss everyday. In the name of Jesus, who has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows, I thank Him for the good examples and lessons their legacy leaves behind. I ask for knowlege of how I can be a light to others as many have been to me. I wonder what legacy I will leave behind to be remembered. Will anyone miss me?

    Love all your words, but especially; Help us to remember the good days, to celebrate the life that you gave them while on this earth. Remind us to make the most of our time, as we are not promised tomorrow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

