Day 17: When Scarred By Abuse

This is Day 17 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting (click to find links to the entire series),
one of 1200+ blogs participating in the 31 Days Challenge, hosted by The Nester.

~~~~~~~~~~

No Trespassing

No Trespassing (Photo credit: justmakeit)

Dear God,

It’s beyond my understanding why some people experience the trauma of being deliberately, selfishly hurt by a person they love or trust. I cannot fathom why someone would purposefully act in a way that would carve a lifetime of scars in another person’s psyche. It’s hard to even speak of the heinous reality of abuses such as,

  • teacher to student
  • father/mother to child
  • boyfriend to girlfriend
  • church leader to lay person

Oh, the ugly depths of sin!

God, there are men, women, young adults, teens, and children walking around with a secret burden they are ashamed to share. They believe somehow it is their fault; that they asked for the abuse, encouraged the behavior, or even found pleasure in it. God, open their eyes to these lies that they are believing. Wash over them with your peace. Let them feel your cleansing and healing power.

Break down the walls they have built to protect themselves from pain, but which also keep out those of us who wish to help and who want to share in the suffering. Help them learn to trust and love again. To allow people inside who will love them with their scars.

Burn away any anger toward the perpetrator or any other person who turned a blind eye. Melt the heart of stone, exchanging it for a heart of flesh.

God, I beg you to heal them.

I don’t know if it’s even possible to ever be thankful that it happened; but I suppose, if so, it would only be at the work of your hands. I do ask that you bring them to a place of healing and trust where they will know you are with them, trust that you were with them even in the awful moment(s), and believe you will be with them making them ever more like you.

Thank you that the day is coming when all tears will be wiped away, when there will be no more darkness. When all scars will be erased, save those borne by the Lamb that was slain for us. When these molested souls will be clothed in white and be completely pure. When the answers we cannot comprehend on earth are finally revealed. 

In Jesus’ name,
Amen

~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you to my good friend who encouraged me to do this post when I was afraid I was too far removed to say anything effective. I’m humbly grateful that abuse has never been a part of my experience. The more I learn about it, the more I wonder if there are people in my life who know all too well the realities of abuse but have never felt free to share. If so, I would love to meet with you and pray further with you.

I think my new internet friend, Jen, is so brave. She has been using the 31 Days challenge to face the memories of the men who abused her. My heart breaks for her, but I’m also in awe of the vulnerability and growth she is able to share with us. I see God mightily at work through her.

This spoken word video blew me away the first time I watched it. It still brings me to tears – both in sorrow at what this little girl endured and in joy at the glory given to the crucified and risen Savior at the end. It’s long, but so worth your 10 minutes.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thank you for a powerful prayer of healing. The video had me in tears but tears of truth. No, let’s not photoshop the truth.
    God Bless

    Reply
  2. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 6, 2013

    It took several hours and 2 days for me to get this video to play without interuption. It was so worth the time. Thanking; God Ashes for beauty is all I can say!

    Reply
  1. Scattered Graces | Facing Memory – Day 17

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

