Day 18: When The Spirit Groans

What an interesting journey this 31 Days has been so far! Before October 1st, I brainstormed topics and settled on 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting.

I thought, “Lots of people are hurting, lots of people need prayer, this should make it easy to write every day.” Little did I know the challenge ahead.

Knowing that blogging daily would still be a challenge, I plotted out topics to talk about every day of the week and then thought through some potential focuses for each day. I decided to stay flexible about choosing the specific topic, but this way I had ideas ready to go in case I felt stuck.

Oh, yes, I love my green pen!

My careful planning really only got me about 5 days in and then things started happening.

How do I explain…

Some of the topics I’d selected were far removed from me. I either didn’t know anyone too personally who struggled with a particular pain or I hadn’t run across the issue in a while.

Then, I started having my own issues and pains pop up. This resulted in a couple posts that weren’t on my radar, such as When You Are Tired, When You Cannot Find The Words, and When Life Comes First.

One interesting outcome, showing me God is at work, is that I started finding the people who were suffering with areas of pain I had on my list. Yesterday’s post, When Scarred By Abuse, is the most striking, since I didn’t even know that Jen or her blog existed until starting this 31 day journey.

I had a mini-meltdown (as I’m choosing to call it) yesterday, which is leading me to a future post; but I’m not quite ready to tackle that just yet.

So today is a recovery day.

Time for a brief break from my prayers.

But the Holy Spirit is constantly in prayer for you before the throne of God.

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.  — Romans 8:26-27

Today,

in this silent space,

breathe,

cry,

make your silent supplication;

and

when the words fail you,

let the Holy Spirit intercede

for the pain that goes so deep.

Today is Day 18 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Perfect day. perfect timing for this- oh how I needed the words to pray in an intolerable situation which has been ongoing for me for 60 years and is still ongoing; the abuser being mother, now 88. I came away from visiting her yesterday wondering how i could keep going to visit her- it is just SO HARD.
    Thank you for penning a helpful prayer.
    I gain comfort from a verse that refers to a time when all we have suffered will seem small by comparison- even though it feels like an eternity while we are still earth-bound:
    These ” light” afflictions are but for a moment, but are WORKING FOR US AN ETERNAL WEIGHT OF GLORY.
    Your posts are great- please know I am thanking God for you, and asking Him to continue to bless many through the words He inspires you to write:)

    Reply
  2. scatteredgraces

     /  October 19, 2012

    Ah, sweet Janice. Know that we are here to groan for you as well. Your words yesterday were a balm to my soul. I am so touched by your connecting with me in such a deep and beautiful way. I will Romans 8 pray and hope for an Ephesians 3:20 outcome.

    Reply
  3. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 6, 2013

    Oh yeah, claygirlsings!! How blessed am I after reading her messages. Speechless I just ask the Lord to bless you more with much healing love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

