Day 25: When You Believe The Lies Are True

Smoke & Mirrors

(Photo credit: Alex Clark)

Every day, millions of us wake up, groggily shuffle to the bathroom, and look in the mirror. But what we see isn’t exactly correct.

The person who looks back at us is not a true reflection of who we are.

I have never run across a single person who didn’t want to change at least one part of their appearance. For some of us, it’s a more consuming issue; but I see so many people affected by image problems. I don’t even have to list them. You’ve probably already got yours in the forefront of your mind.

You do, don’t you?

For a while, I was a moderator for a food and exercise tracking web forum. Part of the forum included an area that focused on eating disorders. I interacted with a number of girls there who saw themselves as flawed and could not see the beauty that existed within them. It was the saddest part of my job; but I loved being able to speak truth to the ones who were willing to listen.

There’s a book I would recommend to anyone struggling with body image called The Look That Kills.  I first heard about it from Pete Wilson’s blog, Without Wax. This sentence from the author about why she wrote the book really resonates with me:

As a perfectionist who has spent most of my life proving that I am always right and covering up anything that someone could potentially view as a mistake, this was totally unchartered ground.

The author struggled with anorexia and compulsive exercise disorder. She finally reached rock bottom, a near death wake-up call, that finally allowed her to abandon control of her life to God and find true freedom in Christ.

Really, though, the issue runs deeper than just how we look. It’s more than our size, shape, hair color, nose, etc. that we see distorted. To us, the scars we carry (physically, emotionally, mentally) mar any remains of beauty that may have once existed.

We often fight to believe that God has forgiven us of all our sins. Especially, you know, that really bad thing.

Do you ever find yourself arguing with God about who you are? Mandisa’s song, “The Truth About Me,” reflects that struggle. In a short, but powerful video, Mandisa explains the story behind the song.

You say, “LOVELY.”
I say, “broken.”

I say, “guilty.”
You say, “FORGIVEN.”

God, forgive us for forgetting that you have made us in your image. It’s so much easier to see the flaws. Give us the strength to focus on your reflection instead of our own. To shift the angle of view when we look into a mirror; so we no longer see ourselves. Instead of reflecting what our sin nature or society want us to look at, give us eyes to see what you see. Help us to believe you call us LOVELY, BELOVED, FORGIVEN, and more.  In the name of Jesus, Amen.

Today is Day 25 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great encouragement, Janice. I struggled with an eating disorder in high school. It’s such a HUGE issue for ladies. We are too quick to believe the lies.

    Reply
  2. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 6, 2013

    I wasn’t able to listen to the actual song yet, but enjoyed reading the words and love the message. I am sure it will help many.

    Reply
  3. Judy

     /  January 6, 2013

    This post is a blessing to me. I will need to really think on it for a while. Thank you! I look forward to your other posts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

