Day 28: When Life Is Overwhelming

Too much work

Photo credit: Pachakutik (Creative Commons)

Several friends have commented to me lately how overwhelmed they are with everything expected of them. It seems to become more and more common to feel overwhelmed.

Dear Lord, 

The To-Do list is growing. For each item checked off, two more new items appear. I’m overwhelmed. My friends are overwhelmed.

Schoolwork piles up with each professor acting like their class in the only one.

The boss adds another project to a growing list.

Friends want to get together.

The house needs a deep cleaning.

There are errands to run, doctor’s appointments to meet, cupcakes to bake, laundry to put away, dinner to make, dishes to wash, faces to scrub, bills to pay, animals to feed, letters to write, papers to file, etc., etc., etc.

*Breathe in…

*Breathe out…

God, the pressures are mounting and life is overwhelming. How are we to bear up under them?

Oh, thank you for this reminder from Isaiah 43:1-3:

Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
    I have called you by name, you are mine.
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
    and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
    and the flame shall not consume you.
For I am the Lord your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.

What a precious promise! You have redeemed us, you are with us, you are our God! Help us to remember this when life threatens to overwhelm us. When things get crazy, remind us of who you are and what you have promised for us.

In Jesus’ name,
Amen

This is Day 28  in 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting – the link will take you to the entire series. Do you ever get overwhelmed with life? What verses or promises of God help you through it?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. So true!!! This is especially true right now as I “took time off from life” while my sister was sick and then to be with her boys after she passed. Right now I have LOADS of things that need done….oh my. But, I am learning more and more that these are the times to prioritize. Usuallly I have candy for trick-or-treaters and try to entice them in – not this year. It may seem like a small thing to give up, but each step is easier and other things will be given up as well until I can catch up a bit. God is there even in our busy times. I love the verse, “Be still and know that I am God.” Sometimes we are so busy with the mundane that we forget that He is God!

    Reply
  2. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 6, 2013

    I have always believed things happen for a reason we don’t always understand. There is a reason I procrastinated on reading your blog from October until now, Jan. 2013. It is now that your messages were meant for my spirit-all of them. I smiled at this one realizing it is no coinsidence that your post is completely in line with the church service I attended today. It was far too long since I went to a service on my own. I was undecided as to which church I was going to attend-thanking God there was so many wonderful choices. Once in the car, i made my final decision even though I believed I would arrive late. AS I drove I took a wrong turn taking me miles out of my way causing me to arrive even later. Finally there I ended up an hour late, yet just in time for the begining of the service which started praise and worship music and the opening prayer included an invitation to stand up, say your name and recite out loud ex. ‘I am Maria and I have been purchased and redeemed’ after that we shared communion and then an invitation for the hurting interested in healing began. The energy in church was awsome. So when I came home to read this post I could only smile at the words you shared in this blog; Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
    I have called you by name, you are mine.
    When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
    and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
    when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
    and the flame shall not consume you.
    For I am the Lord your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior

    Claygirlsings and she rocks!! You are a treasure sister! I hope I never forget the words above when life gets overwhelming for me!! AFter all I’ve heard them twice in one day and even spoke a few of them myself. I don’t recall reading, hearing or receiving this message before. A reminder I hope to pass forward when I see the need to encourage someone else in the future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

