Day 30: Continue To Pray For Others

Need Prayer I

Photo Credit: Matt Carman (Creative Commons)

Are you ever afraid to pray for someone? You don’t think you have a powerful enough prayer for it to be answered? That if the request isn’t answered it means you failed somehow?

Or you want to pray with someone but are afraid you won’t have the right words to say or that you’ll sound silly?

It’s a little like Julie Andrews in Sound Of Music, when she forgot the younger boy’s name: “God Bless What’s-his-name!”

I’ve felt that way at times this month. My attempts to pray for others haven’t gone as deep as I’d hoped; but God’s been using them anyway. That’s the amazing thing.

Prayer is going boldly into the throne room of the King of Kings and requesting a favor. There should be some holy reverence with it.

However, prayer is also a child climbing on her Daddy’s knee and prattling on about the things she wants or is thinking of. She doesn’t take time to compose the right phrasing that will impress others in the room. She only wants to know that Daddy is listening.

Lucky for us, he is.

God wants to hear our petitions and thanksgivings. He doesn’t care if we use the “right” words. There’s no magic formula to put together a prayer that’s guaranteed to be answered. It’s us chatting with our Daddy.

This month, as I’ve chatted and repeated words penned by others, I’ve learned that the more you pray for others, the easier it gets. Each time, I’ve been a little quicker to offer to pray for someone, even people I barely know.

By focusing on pain, I have come to realize that we are all in pain of one sort or another. We all have hurts, some buried deeper than others and some with larger scars than others. But the pain is there.

So my challenge to you is to start flexing your prayer muscle. Begin praying for someone. Respond with prayer when someone shares a hurt. Don’t worry about what it might sound like. Picture yourself as that child on Daddy’s lap, telling him about a friend who’s hurt, asking him to fix it.

Dear Father,

Thank you for the friends you’ve brought along on this journey with me this month. They have hurts and pain that only you fully know. Would you help them? Would you heal the broken places, soothe the burned spots, make smooth the rough roads, erase the scars, bring life to the dead relationship, shine light in the darkness, and melt the heart of stone?

Would you teach them to turn to you at any moment or when anyone mention a hurt around them? Show them how easy it can be to talk with you. 

Thank you for the work you’ve done in my heart this month. Thank you for helping me to open up and share the dark places, both here on the blog and with close friends. Thank you for making us want to be in communion with other believers who can help us along even as we help them.

In Jesus’ name,
Amen

Today is Day 30 of 31 Days of Prayer for the Hurting. This journey is nearly at an end. I am honored that you have joined me, whether for part of the month or for the whole trip.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 6, 2013

    I am really sad the journey is almost at an end. I have looked forward to reading each day’s message and have enjoyed the music as well. To know you is to love you. I hope you put your writings into a book one day for the world to have and to hold. LIght and love to you and yours. xoxox

    Reply
  2. Maria Dupuis

     /  January 6, 2013

    Had one more comment to make on your title for this day’s blog; ‘Pray for others’ that is exactly what I did today when the pastor at the church I attended invited people up for an anointing intended to help the hurting be healed thru the power of God. I was so happy to feel free from all pain and anxiety. Full of faith, I sat saying my prayers for those who did go up to the alter, hoping that the Lord heard me too and will help all those who were in need. Returning home now and reading your blog above made me appreciate so much more the beauty in your words and the extent of situations you remember to offer up to God, for people in need. I will surely continue saying your prayer daily. Thank you again, for sharing your experiences in life, your heart’s desires not only for yourself but for others as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

