Today, Rise up and Call her Blessed

The Proverbs 31 woman is sometimes controversial. Some are inspired by her, others are discouraged by her. I don’t think she is an actual woman. It’s more poetry than prose. However, this “woman” is often lauded as the standard or ideal for women. My mom has mentioned that over the years of her life she’s heard some poorly directed sermons, causing her to dislike this passage – it’s unattainable and only sets a wife and mother up to fail. I’ve been blessed to not have had that experience and have always loved this passage as motivation through the daily grind of life.

I see a woman who works hard, often without praise or thanks, but who manages an amazing amount of productivity.

I see my Mom.

My Mom has always been a hard worker. Perhaps a result of her hard-working mother.

Okay, so, she doesn’t like snow, but no one’s perfect.

Today is my Mom’s 75th birthday.

 

We are celebrating a woman who,

  • as second oldest of six, helped her widowed mother raise her younger siblings;
  • raised her own family, went to college, and worked as a teacher at the same time;
  • after being widowed herself, packed up everything and became a missionary in Japan for 6 years;
  • still loves her entire family dearly, even the ones who she never gets to see anymore.

Mom, you’ve worked so hard through your 75 years. They have not been wasted or in vain. Your legacy carries on in your children and grandchildren. You have been blessed. You are blessed.

“Many women have done excellently,
but you surpass them all.”
Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
Give her of the fruit of her hands,
and let her works praise her in the gates.*

Happy Birthday, Mom. You are a wonderful woman who I am so proud to call Mother. I love you!

In honor of my Mom, celebrate your mother today. If she’s still living, give her a hug or a phone call, and tell her how much you appreciate her.

What do you love about your mother?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. i am in tears after reading this post..i just miss my mother so much who passed away ten years ago

    Reply
  2. Thank you.He is always a comforter..I’m looking forward to read more of your posts..Posts like yours are inspiring (hopefully) for others too.God Bless!

    Reply
  3. Happy birthday to your mom! I was one of her roommates in Japan and she WAS/IS awesome! Quite the lady!

    Reply
    • I remember hearing her talk about you! How nice that you found this. I peeked over at your blog and etsy shop. Your prints are darling! Thanks for sharing the birthday wishes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

