I’m not just fine; I’m great!

It’s One Word 365 time again! As an alternative to resolutions that quickly fall by the wayside, Alece and the One Word 365 community challenge us to select a word to focus on for the next year.

~~~~~~~~~~

Do you ever feel like there’s always something that’s not going well? That’s how my life often seems.

I always pick the wrong line at the store.

It’s my theater seat that’s broken or uncomfortable.

Sure, someone gave me a gift, but it was too big, the wrong color, or not my style.

My neck/back/stomach/foot hurts.

And how am I? Oh, fine. That sneaky four letter word.

Fine.

For 2013, I resolve to change that answer.

OneWord2013 (400x278)

I’m great!

That’s great!

You’re great!

Life is great!

(The exclamation point is crucial).

My aim, spurred on by Ann’s counting of 1000 gifts and Joseph Lalonde’s post on The Trap of Negativity, is to turn the tide of being so negative so very often. My desire is for 2013 to be a year filled with positivity (not a real word and thus not eligible).

A simple suggestion frequently mentioned when people discuss trying not to be negative is to respond, “I’m great!” rather than “fine” when someone asks how you are. It’s not that I’m lying about how I am, but I want to dwell on the good (great!) things in my life and not the okay or just fine things.

I’ve also noticed that it’s nearly impossible to say the word without ending up smiling.
Go on. Try it.

Great!

The perfect word to dwell on for the next year, it encompasses all the push away from the negative and toward the positive that I want.

But it’s not just about me.

One of our elders gave a very thought-provoking sermon on Gospel Resolutions for the last Sunday in 2012. If the focus of our New Year’s resolutions or “One Words” is only for our benefit, then we’ve missed the mark and are only promoting our own idol worship. The key question is to ask where the gospel fits with our resolves.

So, how does “Great!” glorify God and not me? My life is so blessed, but daily I overlook the gifts that God has given me. If “I’m great!”, it’s only because of all that God has done for me. I’m truly a mess on my own. God is “great!” which is what makes it possible for me to be “great!”

I highly suggest you listen to Gospel Resolutions or click over to the Karis Church website to download the sermon.

Where do you stand at the start of the year? Will you join us in choosing a word for 2013?

Tell us in the comments what your word is and how that word will bring glory to God throughout this year.

Here’s to a “great!” year!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 753 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

