The Greatest Rescue Story You Can Share

Do you get chills when you hear a great rescue story? This tale is no sad, in-the-arms-of-the-angel kind of story. It even has the unique use of a smartphone to speed the story to it’s exciting conclusion.

Isn’t that remarkable? Why do stories like this inspire us?

Sonia at Copyblogger has broken it down from a storytelling standpoint. Storytelling has proven effective for marketing or to share about your non-profit organization (shout out to our old friend, Dan Portnoy!). Too often, however, we are so quick to share absolutelyuselessinformation.

What does it mean for us as Christians? We are sitting on the greatest rescue story ever. We are not just watching from the sidelines. We are the ones being pulled away from danger. Are we telling our stories?

In Psalm 40:9-10, David says,

I have told the glad news of deliverance
in the great congregation;
behold, I have not restrained my lips,
as you know, O Lord.
I have not hidden your deliverance within my heart;
I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation;
I have not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness
from the great congregation.

What has God done for you? Is your story being told? Do the people around you know that you’ve been rescued from darkness? Have you shared recently with a friend about how God brought you back from death to life?

Have I?

Karis Church is starting a By Name initiative for the next seven weeks. We’re being asked to commit to pray for one person in our life and then look for ways to connect and share the gospel with that person. The timing has been incredible for me as nudges to pray salvation prayers for people have come at me from multiple directions.

It’s frankly convicting and a little scary.

Psalm 40:5 says,

You have multiplied, O Lord my God,
your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us;
none can compare with you!
I will proclaim and tell of them,
yet they are more than can be told.

David proclaimed God’s wondrous deeds. It’s our turn to share the gospel. It’s time to tell the world our amazing rescue story.

Is there someone for whom you can pray and share your story?

~~~~~

I’m walking through the Psalms with Steph at Everyday Awe:

By Name

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oh my, those puppies were super cute! Thanks for linking up today! I love that you took a pretty different angle on the Psalm than I did. That’s what I’m hoping for! I think we can gain a lot from hearing from different points of view. I appreciate your encouragement in this post to not hold back from sharing our stories of rescue with others. I am often a little too quiet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

