You Have So Much More To Offer

I am in my 40’s and I am still painfully insecure. I ought to have grown out of that by now, right?

At a conference in early 2012, the opportunity presented itself for me to meet a young female entrepreneur who I admired online.

“Hi Maggie! I love your work and sense of style!”

Did I say this? No. I was too shy to introduce myself afraid of being rejected, so all I said was a timid “hello” and moved on.

Warm fire

A short while later I sat morosely kicking myself by this lovely fire. All my insecurities piled on me with a weight that grew heavier by the second. Instead of dealing with a mere moment of bashfulness, I was suddenly flooded with memories of a lifetime of missed encounters.

Do you ever do that?

I really never thought much about it until I saw how bothered my husband gets when I’m negative about myself. He loves me as I am and it’s insulting to his love for me when I insist that I’m unworthy of it.

I’m not alone here. I see other women I respect who don’t feel that they have much to offer and, while it’s easy for me to perceive the lie of satan in their lives, I’m blind to it in my own.

But we are women made in the image of God.

We are chosen by God for eternity.

Jesus gave up his life for us on the cross.

We are his Beloved.

I don’t have an answer to fix my own insecurities or yours. But I know that we should not dwell on them or let them drag us down and keep us from becoming all we can be in Christ. I know that God uses our weaknesses as opportunities for his strength to shine through. As Paul says, in 2 Corinthians 12:

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

I hope to offer you some encouragement tonight. Whatever it may be that you are beating yourself up about, stop. See that God is at work through you. That where you feel like you fail is where he steps in and shows his strength and power through you. And if you’re struggling and just can’t see that, then know. Know that his grace is sufficient for you and that he is with you. Trust his word. Believe it.

You, and I, have so much more to offer. Our insecurities and weaknesses are shining the light of God’s strength to a darkened world.

I’m continuing to count the gifts God is giving me:

  • Jewel-toned colors through a stained glass window.
  • The warmth of a purring cat.
  • Sunshine and warmer than average days in January.
  • A peace that descends as notes reverberate through a piano.
  • Chocolate. 🙂
  • Sunset darkening the sky a little later each day as winter ebbs slowly into spring.

I’m linking up with:

The Scenic Route

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. oneintercessor

     /  January 28, 2013

    Very nice post. I should lament opportunities to express myself taken when perhaps, I should have remained quiet :). We each have our battles, praise God He sees us through the blood of Jesus if we belong to Him! I hope you are free from this trouble soon enough, for good~Years ago I read When People Are Big and God is Small and it seemed to help my insecurities. He also walked me through a few years of being alone so I saw how much I looked to others rather to Him for my needs…it was hard, but I’m thankful for it. Anyway, thanks for posting and sharing your thoughts.

    Reply
    • It is true that not everyone struggles with this the same. I seem to see so many women who do wrestle with insecurities and not seeing their worth as part of the bride of Christ. Thanks for your comment.

      Reply
  2. scatteredgraces

     /  January 28, 2013

    Janice. You and I are too much alike. Our husbands probably recite the same words to us. I know that 2x this week Dear Husband tried to convince me that it’s okay to make a mistake. I have spent almost 39 years trying to be perfect. A mistake is hard to let go of. For me, it is like sin. Something to be punished for. Not forgiven and forgotten.

    You, again, speak to me so beautifully. Thank you.

    Reply
    • I read something yesterday about the patience of God. I forget where now. He is so patient with us as we learn these lessons again & again. Let’s rest in his strength today, since our own will fail us. Thanks, Jen.

      Reply
  3. Sigh…I think we have a lot in common, Janice. I went to a writer’s conference a couple of years ago and I was so timid. I wanted to say “hi” to people but at the time all I could think was “they are going to know I don’t belong here” It’s incredible how persistent those insecurities can be! Thanks for linking up. You are not alone.

    Reply
  4. Forgive me if I find this rather a fascinating fact. Paul is who he is because of a unique one-on-one encounter with Christ. That encounter changed him and ultimately the world in which we live. If that be true, then our individual encounters with Christ should also have a profound effect on us and subsequently, the world in which we live. I am reminded that it is not unusual for new Christians to come under attack by old friends. It is also not unusual for new Christians to come under attack from a world where Satan has some sway. I think Paul’s good news is there is a place of refuge when this happens. He uses himself as an example for us to follow. If I submit my weaknesses to the power of Christ, then I become empowered to deal with what whatever is thrown my way. Life, the Christian life, is funny that way. It places what I have described as a target on your back that distinguishes you from those nonbelievers around you. Your faith also sets you up to do great things in the name of Christ the savior.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

