With my soul – it must be well

It is Well with My Soul

Photo credit: and12ey (Creative Commons)

When peace like a river attendeth my way
When sorrows like sea billows roll
Whatever my lot
Thou hast taught me to say
It is well; it is well with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet
Though trials should come
Let this blessed assurance control
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate
And has shed his own blood for my soul.

It is well with my soul;
It is well with my soul;
It is well; it is well with my soul.

We sang this in Karis a month ago. By the second chorus I had tears rolling down my face and could no longer sing.

At times I feel so miserable in my life and yet I don’t know what it means to suffer like Horatio Spafford, the author of the song.

Do you know the story behind this song? Delayed by business concerns, Horatio put his wife and children on a boat to Europe ahead of him. A shipwreck, then a rescue, led to Horatio receiving this telegram from his wife: Saved alone. All of their daughters died in the shipwreck. As Horatio crossed the Atlantic to join his wife in Europe, he wrote this song.

If he, and so many others like him, can face losses like that and still glorify God, what excuse do I have? How can I not say, ‘it is well my soul?’

It must be well with my soul, even though I feel terrible.

It must be well.

It has to be well.

Christ shed his blood for me and my sin…

oh, the bliss of this glorious thought
My sin, not in part, but the whole
Has been nailed to the cross
And I bear it no more
Praise the Lord – PRAISE THE LORD! – Oh, my soul!

This morning, my cousin, his wife, my mom and I will sing this at my Aunt Ruth’s funeral service. Because Aunt Ruth believed Jesus is Lord and that God raised him from the dead, we know she is in heaven and that those of us who also believe will see her again one day. In that day, there will be no more tears, or sorrow, or death.

And, Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll
The trump shall resound
And the Lord shall descend
Even so, it is well with my soul.

It is well.

It must be well.

It has to be well.

It is well with my soul.

This comforts me in the anguish of my soul. May it also comfort and encourage you.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 756 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

