On Being Content with my Writing

Content2013This was not the post I expected to write for contentment. However, being content includes having satisfaction in who I am, warts and all as it were. So, in an exercise of contentment with my writing, I present my first foray into Five Minute Friday (FMF).

FMF is a collection of bloggers who join in a Twitter chat on Thursday evenings to get the writing prompt for Friday. The rules are to set a timer and write for 5 minutes only, no extreme editing or rewriting – and then share it with the world. Gulp.

Not to reread and rewrite and tweak and fix and make everything perfect – do you see why this is a lesson in being content?

And so, without further ado, I’m setting my timer…

FMF prompt: Fall.

My neighbor just started up her mower. It’s loud at first, but then settles into white noise while I think about fall. What a contrast to the heat of summer about to come. Fall, with that crispness in the air and the colors of the leaves. I think what I love about fall is the change.

You know, most of the time we fight change. We don’t want people to leave us or us to leave them. We resist starting something new.

But sometimes change is what we need. That fresh start to begin again or to give us a new outlook on whatever problem we’re facing.

Fall signals that change is coming. It’s winter and death, but that too will change in time. Spring, rebirth, new life is ahead. We can be glad for the changes because as believers they are merely seasons leading us to eternal spring.

Fall Leaves

Well, there you have it. I’m content for now, but I do prefer cleaning up and rewriting posts. That’s for another day.

I’m linking up to FMF. There’s a slew of other bloggers who wrote about fall in many different ways, including different definitions of the word. Check ‘em out!
Five Minute Friday

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. My favorite line: “as believers they are merely seasons leading us to eternal spring.” I loved your post – dying to rebirth, over and again. Falling is not so bad, is it. I am blessed by your writing and thank you for sharing your gift.

    Reply
  2. kbaesen

     /  June 7, 2013

    Just visiting from FMF! Glad you tried it…it’s so much fun! I love fall too…it’s the most beautiful!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. So very true. I love your picture of the leaves. Fall always reminds me that there is more good things to come. Each season is amazing and wonderful and brings us blessings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

