Present and Ready to Serve

Staff greets arriving campers

My present is that I’m at camp.

It’s hot. There are bugs.

On Monday there will be 96 excited, tired, hungry campers here.

My present is to set aside my own wants, demands, comforts, desires.

I am here to serve.

From nearly the moment of setting foot/tire on the camp grounds, it’s been running through my head. I’m here to serve. I’m here to be available. I’m here to offer what I have. I’m here to pour out.

This time is not about me. This week is about others, not just the campers, but the 60+ staff. I am here to serve.

Campers listening to instructions before going in to lunch

Campers listening to instructions before going in to lunch

Lord, please help me to keep remembering to stay out of the way this week. This is not about me. This week is about you. It’s about serving others. It’s a here I am, use me kind of week.

Tonight is that big breath I mentioned before – the in-between, getting ready moment. It’s still a moment to serve and help someone else. It’s still a moment to be ready.

The full staff arrive tomorrow. Campers on Monday.

While I serve this week, would you pray for the staff and campers at Camp CUMCITO? It’s a hard, challenging week. We push the limits in so many ways – physically and spiritually. Pray for God to move in a mighty way while we serve.

—–

This was a Five Minute Friday post! Five minutes on the timer, no major editing. This week, the prompt was PRESENT (click to read other great FMF posts).

My hope is to post again during the week, but I may not be able to based on time, energy, and wifi availability. Thanks for reading and for praying for me and everyone at Camp CUMCITO this week!

Two years ago, I wrote a post with more details about what Camp CUMCITO is all about. There’s also a camp blog, if you want to see what happens during camp.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Praying for everyone there at camp to be greatly blessed.

    Reply
  2. Nita

     /  July 14, 2013

    Beautiful way to describe your coming week. Adding my prayers for you and everyone at the camp. Have a blessed week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

