What Broken Looks Like

Ugh, seriously, Lisa-Jo? Broken? I’ve been trying to write about being broken all week. Since my story needs more than 5 minutes for the whole, here, in 5 minutes, is a glimpse at what broken looked like for me last week:

Broken is…

On Day Two of a weeklong commitment, turning to your husband and declaring, “I’m done. I’m ready to go home.”

Facedown on your bed, silent tears streaming out, leaving makeup smudges on the sheets. Those smudges serve as reminders of the depths for the rest of the week.

Broken is…

Heart pouring out to God, declaring utter helplessness, complete desperation and total failure to handle things on your own.

Daily tears, daily surrendering self to God again. And again. And again.

Broken is…

Getting smacked in the face with temptation, seemingly out of the blue. You didn’t even see it coming and yet, HELLO – wouldn’t you like to give this a try? (correct answer = no).

Running to your heavenly Father in complete abandon, throwing yourself on his extravagant grace to see you through each moment of every day.

Broken is…

admitting to yourself that you are not your own Savior. That the thing you desire is not your Savior. That the person who means the most to you is not your Savior.

Broken is…

relying on grace.

——

Whew. Broken is hard.

Can you tell this is just the tip of the iceberg? If/when I get a more complete post on brokenness and how it happened with me at camp this year, I’ll add the link here.

Want to read more FMF posts about Broken? Check out Lisa-Jo Baker’s Facebook page. I guess her blog is broken, how apropos. 

early spring tree

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing so honestly. Brokenness is no respecter of persons!! I’m sorry the commitment didn’t go as well as you would have liked, and the temptation?! The worst comes when you’re already weakened and susceptible to falling, giving in, giving up. Satan is a liar, he comes to rob, steal, and destroy. But He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world. Be encouraged.

    Reply
    • Great comment! Thanks for the reminders and encouragement. The commitment (working a week at camp) ended up being a great thing (as it always does) as I got out of the way and God was allowed to work! More on that soon!

      Reply
  2. I share your angst and struggle to get it all out in 5 minutes but your post is beautiful! cheers to you and may you bask in His Grace through the rest of your week and beyond! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Susan Smith

     /  July 26, 2013

    Wow, Janet. This made my heart SING. For The Lord truly has been glorified. I am praying for your brokenness and your total reliance upon Him. Praises!

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply
    • Oh you. You are just one example in my life of someone who is learning to put total reliance on God – getting on an airplane to go to another country, you beautiful, crazy woman. Thanks.

      Reply
  4. “Broken is…

    relying on grace.”

    How true. How very true! Blessings 🙂

    Reply
  5. Stopping by from the Five Minute Friday! “Running to your heavenly Father in complete abandon, throwing yourself on his extravagant grace to see you through each moment of every day.” I can totally relate to this one in this season of my life. So thankful that He takes my broken and makes it beautiful!

    Reply
    • It sure it beautiful! Have you read Prodigal God by Tim Keller? It expounds on that thought on extravagant grace.

      Reply
  6. Virginia

     /  July 26, 2013

    So powerful! Wow! And I’ve been so smacked by temptation before. Ugh. It hurts, even when we don’t give in. It hurts. http://virginiacarmichael.blogspot.com/2013/07/five-minute-friday-broken.html

    Reply
    • Thankfully, temptation and sin are two different things and by being broken, God gives us the strength to turn away. (but you’re right, there’s still sometimes pain involved). Thanks for visiting.

      Reply
  7. mamarabia

     /  July 26, 2013

    The prompt today was such a kick in the pants I almost didn’t write anything. Then I decided that my dislike of the prompt was an excellent reason to write. Thanks for the brief glimpse. I pray that you feel less broken tomorrow…and the next day…

    Reply
  8. Great post here… I struggled for years on how to tell my story. I still do to a degree today. Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  9. Beautiful thoughts, thanks for sharing! This was a hard one to do in five minutes!

    Reply
  10. When i saw that the prompt this week was ‘Broken’ I also replied ‘seriously?!?’ but found something to write about anyway (as we all have!) thank you for sharing about what being worn down looks like, how he continues to hold us in the midst of this and how he reminds us that he will continue to restore. I look forward to reading more of your working through of this if the time presents itself (more than five minutes! ) be blessed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

