Want to join my Lonely Club?

Lonely.

I know lonely well. Lonely has been a constant companion when all others went away. Lonely accompanied me through some hard times. Lonely sat with me in the dark while I cried. Lonely walked beside me when I did not know where I was going.

Sometimes it feels like my whole life has been in the presence of lonely. Even in a crowd, when I felt invisible, lonely gave me a gentle nudge, reminding me he was with me. There to the end, lonely has been a true friend.

Some will read this and feel sorry for me. I can see it. And dare I even post it?

But I’m not lonely’s only friend. Lonely is companion to many people. How we all share him I do not know. But why can we not be friends, mutual acquaintances of lonely? Why do we end up isolated with only lonely nearby? We need a lonely club, where we can all be lonely together! Wouldn’t lonely just love that!?!

DSCF1483 (800x520)———-

Not the post I thought I would write when I first learned today’s prompt was lonely.

Can I share two follow-up thoughts to lonely?

1) As I typed I was reminded of Shel Silverstein’s poem, Nobody.

Nobody loves me, Nobody cares,
Nobody picks me peaches and pears,
Nobody offers me candy and Cokes,
Nobody listens and laughs at my jokes.

Nobody helps when i get in a fight,
Nobody does all my homework at night.
Nobody misses me, Nobody cries,
Nobody thinks I’m a wonderful guy.

So if you ask me who’s my best friend, in a whiz,
I’ll stand up and tell you that Nobody is.
But yesterday night I got quite a scare,
I woke up and Nobody just wasn’t there.

I called out and reached out for Nobody’s hand,
In the darkness where Nobody usually stands.
Then I poked through the house, in each cranny and nook,
But I found somebody each place that I looked.

I searched till I’m tired, and now with the dawn,
There’s no doubt about it-
Nobody’s gone!

2) On Monday, Lisa-Jo posted, When you wonder why everyone else seems to have friends, some great thoughts on how so many of us are lonely and just need someone to reach out. The key is to be the one who reaches out. Doing so, you end up with friends by default. I challenged some of the women in my church that if each one of us reaches out to someone around us, then we’ll all find that we are connected. Great way to banish both lonely and nobody. 🙂

Thanks for reading my posts yet again. I’m honored by each visit and comment.
Five Minute Friday

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I love Shel Silverstein. Your posting of his poem brings back memories of reading to my little sister from Where the Sidewalk Ends or A Light in the Attic before mom would make us turn off the lights.
    And I love the challenge to reach out to others. What a good reminder that the best way to make a friend is to be one.

    Reply
  2. Already in the lonely club. 🙂 This is pretty close to the post I thought about posting. And, yes, reaching out is the thing to do.

    Reply
  3. What a poignant–and honest–post. Loved it!

    Laura Hedgecock
    http://www.TreasureChestofMemories.com
    http://www.twitter.com/LauraLHedgecock

    Reply
  4. Oh you hit the nail on the head … I’ve said it again and again … you have to be a friend to make a friend. And that doesn’t take away from the feeling of being lonely, but in your bravery you will find such blessing!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I replied to your comment there, but wanted to hop on over to your place. I grew up very shy, and my mom used to always say, “If you want to have friends, you have to show yourself friendly.” It was hard! Being shy I spent many years guarded and feeling lonely. I still have to work on being guarded, but as I’ve gotten older I have found her words to be true and am realizing that people aren’t that scary after all ! : ))

    Reply
  6. Hello. I’m Rodney. One of the few guys on the Wall Around Your Heart Launch Team. I’m just dropping in to a few blogs to say hello. Keep up the blogging and I’ll see you online. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Jenny

     /  September 7, 2013

    I do find it ironic that so many of us share the feeling of being lonely. I think slowly we are finding one another and maybe one day we will not be so lonely. Although, being an introvert, I do appreciate being alone. 🙂

    Thanks for this very honest post. It encourages me to keep writing in the same way. Courage from one another.

    Peace to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

