Where were you 15 years ago?

1998_TJ2

Today, Tom and I celebrate 15 years of marriage. Wow, how exciting is that!?!

When it came time to plan our wedding, I knew I didn’t want to get hit with anything, like rice or birdseed, so we opted for a balloon release instead. The idea was that as we went by everyone would release their balloons in a cascade of balloons. Then Tom and I had a trash bag full of them to release ourselves as a big finale.

It would be so beautiful.

1998_TJ3

What we underestimated were the vindictive natures of our closest friends and family.

Instead a gentle balloon release, we were pummeled with the balloons as we raced by trying to escape. I think the pictures say it well. Tom ended up shielding me from the brunt of most of the blows. 🙂

Good times. Good times.

I’ve previously shared on the blog the two-part story of how Tom proposed, and you know how I love weddings. But, rather than go through the sappy details of our wedding, I have a different idea to celebrate our anniversary today.

I would love to hear from you. 

1998_TJ4

In chatting with a friend who celebrated a birthday yesterday, I realized that he was 10 years old when we got married.

It got me to thinking.

Where were you 15 years ago? How old were you or what were you doing in August of 1998? Did something significant happen in your life in the fall of ’98?

Would you celebrate with us today by sharing your story in the comments?

1998_TJ5

I can’t wait to read them!

And to Tom, at first like a big brother, then best friend, and now lover, thank you for the past 15 years. I can’t wait to see what God does in our lives in the next 15!

Much love, Your LBM

(and to this day, no one has guessed what LBM stands for)

Okay, it’s your turn. Tell me your stories!

Take a stab at LBM if you want, but keep it clean. Best guesses ever: Lip Burnin’ Mama and Love Butter Monkey! 😀

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Starting out 6th grade 🙂 oddly enough I’m wearing an updated version of my 11 year old bangs today. Ha!

    Reply
  2. MacKenzie

     /  August 22, 2013

    I was starting my junior year of college. AND, on Thanksgiving ’98 I said “yes” when Aaron asked me to marry him! Well, technically I said, “Are you serious?”, but it was quickly followed by a “Yes!”

    Reply
  3. Congratulations! I love the balloon release. So pretty!

    When you were getting married I was in my freshman year of high school. I ended up in beginning journalism that semester because of a scheduling conflict. It was a huge blessing and newspaper became a big part of my high school career. I was the editor of the paper in the end and now I’m an editor professionally. Who knows where I would have ended up or what I’d be doing now if God hadn’t intervened!

    Happy anniversary!

    Reply
  4. I was 8 and about to start 3rd grade. I was much more settled in a friend group since we had moved to VA in ’96. And I would’ve just found out that my first grade teacher was now teaching third grade and I would have her again *cue 8-year-old happy dance*

    Happy Anniversary!

    Reply
    • Oh, Laura Faith, how I miss seeing your sweet face in person. I love your story (and hey, we were both in Va at the time!).

      Reply
  5. Hey there! I was actually at your wedding, ole roomie! I lived with you until you got married to Tom. I believe I was there with Hitomi and our neighbors were there! Don’t remember the balloon thing, but I’ve been to a few weddings since then. 🙂 I do remember Tom crying and thinking…I sure hope I don’t have to sing this song myself. 🙂 Can’t believe it’s been 15 years, it was just yesterday, right? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

