Set Free: What Mercy

CitySetFree_Facebook

We’re praying through A City Set Free: 40 Days of Prayer for Columbia in Karis Church and tomorrow, Day 20, is praying for those incarcerated and their families. Tonight my Missional Community met and in the course of the evening, discussed and then prayed for Day 20. One comment was made that we tend to judge people in prison looking at the wrong they have done, forgetting that we have done wrong, sinned, and had that wrong washed away – forgotten by our Heavenly Father.

That’s mercy.

It’s easy to talk about grace sometimes. We want more grace and we want to show grace and we pray for God to lavish his grace on us. Those things we don’t deserve, the gifts of the Father.

We don’t as often talk about mercy. We have sinned grievously and yet the punishment was paid by Another. What mercy was shown us, that our sins were forgiven and the debt owed was paid in full. We once were prisoners, chained in the stench of our sin. In Christ, we have been shown mercy, and have been washed clean. Pure. Free. Restored. Released from our prisons.

Praise God for his mercy!

—–

This week’s Five Minute Friday prompt was Mercy. There’s a couple hundred other bloggers who also wrote on mercy. You can check them out at Lisa-Jo Baker’s site. The basic rules are to write for 5 minutes on the week’s prompt – no editing. I’ve learned I’m a slow processer, because some people end up with twice as much content than I do or more. But, it’s still a fun exercise in writing freedom and it has helped me blog more consistently.

Somewhat random, but I’m going to include it because it has mercy in the first verse: we are going to be learning a new song in church on Sunday, so I’ve been previewing it. I want to share it with you as well.

I once was dead in sin,
Alone and hopeless
A child of wrath I walked,
Condemned in darkness
But Your mercy brought new life
And in your love and kindness
Raised me up with Christ,
And made me righteous

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Rachelle Cox

     /  September 13, 2013

    I love Citizens, by the way. But on a more serious note, I have a family member who is actually in prison for murder right now. It’s pretty easy for me to think to myself “I would never kill anyone” when my own sins are the reason why Christ was killed on the cross. Sometimes Christians forget the hypocrisy we display when we point our fingers at those who are in jail or prison. It really touched me that the leaders at Karis thought to put prayers for the incarcerated in that prayer book. It was a good idea, and prompted me to pray for my family member. I hadn’t in a couple of months and the reminder was welcomed.

    Reply
  2. One day I am going to finish the book by Hugo,Les Miserable – but that book is about grace and mercy and redemption – for criminals who need it and for the communities that shut their doors on them, denying the opportunity for redemption:) What is grace without mercy?!

    Wish people had that same vision about struggling teens in our communities:)

    Reply
  1. Dragons and the Cold Hard Truth. | The Newbie Homemaker

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

