Day 13: Rest from Idolatry to Worship

Ps_122_glad

Has your soul felt rest today?

It was wonderful to be in Karis Church worshiping the Lord with my brothers and sisters.

The sermon focused on idolatry (Exodus 32:1-33:6), which tied in well with my post from yesterday about cracked pedestals. The gist of the sermon was roughly this:  like the gold-powdered water that Moses made the Israelites drink in that passage, idolatry leaves us with a bitter taste. But Jesus calls us away from idolatry to worship.

There were a lot of great points, which, unfortunately, I couldn’t get down fast enough, but I did note one quote from Tim Keller:

Fear-based repentance makes us hate ourselves.  Joy-based repentance makes us hate our sin.

Cool stuff, eh? I highly encourage you to listen to the sermon, by a Karis Church deacon, Billy Glosson. You can either listen online or download the mp3.

How have you been learning to rest this month?

Ps_84_lovely_dwelling_place

Today is Day 13 of 31 Days of Rest.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Rachelle Cox

     /  October 14, 2013

    Yeah, I was having a hard time putting everything I wanted to in my notes. I eventually just gave up and wrote “Billy is on fire today” or something in my notebook. It was an awesome sermon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

