Day 18: Rest for Those Who are Worn

Are you worn out right now?

Does it feel like you’ve been treading water for a long time and your energy and spirit are about to give out?

Sometimes the answer is not a quick fix. There’s no magic formula that will instantly make all your problems go away. Even if you had previously rejected God and now you turn to Him for help, you may still be stuck in a hard place and frayed to the edges of your reserve. Still turn to Him, because in Him there is peace and hope in the middle of hard times. As Jesus encourages,

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.  — John 16:33

Filling a Water Jug

Photo credit: Water for South Sudan (Creative Commons)

You may be worn out and using up the last of your strength. That’s when it’s time to give it all up and cling to God for His strength. It was amazing to me the difference it made when I finally started reading the Bible regularly – not to check off a to-do list of how to be a good Christian, but as if making a daily trip to a well to fill up with water needed for life.

There’s also a future promise that God is making all things new. This struggle will end.

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” And he said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To the thirsty I will give from the spring of the water of life without payment. The one who conquers will have this heritage, and I will be his God and he will be my son.  — Revelation 21:1-7

We will see Redemption win, as the song longs for. We will see God redeem the ashes of broken lives and a broken world. He will make all things new.

Rest here today.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Amen! Glory to God!!! Blessings to you dear Janice

    Reply
  2. you wrote this just for me, didn’t you ? lol
    Spot on- thank you.
    I am enjoying your 31 day series very much
    Mary, New Zealand.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

