Day 1: Wanting our own way

Welcome to Day one of Crushing Your/Our/My Kingdom(s). Let’s start with a brief look at why it is that we want to build our own kingdoms in the first place. Going back to the beginning, we are reminded that Eve, in the Garden of Eden, was the first human to start building her kingdom.

“So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was to be desired to make one wise, she took of its fruit and ate, and she also gave some to her husband who was with her, and he ate.”  Genesis 3:6

We all, every one of us, have the desire born in us to think we know what’s best for us and, sometimes, for everyone around us. We push, scratch, and claw our way to the top, building what we think is a good thing, only to find that we had a flawed view of what was good or were relying on faulty reasoning that X would satisfy and fulfill us.

Do you remember going to the beach as a child and desperately trying to build sand castles? Mine usually ended up as somewhat off-balanced lumps that vaguely resembled a bucket (cue: sad trombone). If, by some miracle, a modest sand castle was erected, then the incoming tide was sure to wash it away.

Striving to build sand castle kingdoms

This is how I feel when I take an objective look at the kingdoms I try to establish in my own strength or for my own glory. Something I expected to be a tower of strength is, in reality, an unsteady, ready-to-collapse bucket of sand. Do you ever feel this way? Things you thought would lead to success or happiness only disappointed.

As we focusing on crushing our kingdoms this month, may we see where we are still striving, with bucket and shovel, to build sand castle kingdoms.

Read to read Day 2?

Click here for the index to the whole series:

crushing your kingdoms

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love it! What a great theme and what a great first post. I cannot wait to read the rest of your posts this month, Janice!! Another wild thing we have in common: we are both in Missouri. 🙂 I’m in the St. Louis area.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

