Day 5: Sit in the hard places

sunrise

Why am I focusing on crushing kingdoms this month? It’s sort of an odd turn of phrase, I know. Here’s a little back story to fill in the gaps:

A friend with a small handful of young ones recently reached out to me asking for prayer and declaring she was going to lose it. After a few questions to clarify what the issue was, she shared this:  “The house is clean. Dinner is done. Bathroom’s done. Laundry done. – The kids are not done.”

Yikes. I get that. Do you get that? There are times when surface things are running smoothly and it appears that everything is in place, but the reality is we’re falling apart. My friend continued, “My problem — I try everyday to build my own kingdom. We have a schedule, a plan, chores, worksheets, field trips planned. Then things don’t work out like I wanted to and I just get so frustrated. I don’t know any other way. How do I crush my kingdom? What does letting God build the kingdom look like?”

This and the ensuing conversation has stayed with me since that day. While I’ve been praying for my friend, I’ve also been mulling over my own kingdoms and what must happen to crush them and let God build the kingdom. This is what I hope to walk through this month.

I don’t know how to fix things. I only know a God who fixes. He is Healer. At times, he has to (figuratively) break bones in order to reset them properly.

Sometimes there’s not a pretty wrap up and moral to the story. Sometimes we have to sit in the hard places for a while. This is one of those times. Reflect on your own kingdoms and what must happen to let God crush them and build His kingdom.

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. James 1:2-4

Click here to read Day 4: Counting Blessings & Revealing Messes.
Move forward to read Day 6: Stop building on sand.

Catch the whole series indexed here.

crushing your kingdoms

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great topic and food for thought for sure!! Right now I am actually sitting in a hard place with a friend and it’s so painful to wait on the Lord for someone else who is in a seriously hard place. It feels like this is the first time this has been a reality in my life though I know it is not. I’m in a transitional place, which can be a hard place as well, but I am working on trusting God through my own transitional place while I wait with my friend through hers!

    Reply
    • I think every hard place feels new – the challenges and trials never hit us in quite the same way or we are different people than the last time a particular trial hits. Glad you can wait with a friend to make her hard place less lonely.

      Reply
  2. One of my favourite quotes about God’s kingdom (or plans, if you will) vs Man’s kingdoms is this: “Men make plans and God laughs.” In other words, we can make lots of plans, but if God’s plan is different from ours, we may find that, at best, our plans come to nothing or at worst, they may lead us into sin and away from God. That said, it’s not always easy to know God’s plans and understand the kingdom that He is trying to build when it doesn’t look anything like what we’ve planned. I have definitely been in a season of blindness with regard to God’s plan for me and have been grappling with trying to understand why He is allowing me to walk through what I am walking through at the moment. Thank you for sharing your heart on this! God bless you!

    Reply
    • You reminded me of James 4:13-17: Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil. So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 756 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

