Day 7: Praying for grace

Secret GardenI’ve mentioned before that I really like the music of Indelible Grace (here, here, and here). Here’s another one that I haven’t been able to get away from all summer.

Due to some tough circumstances that my family has faced this summer, I find I’m more frequently clinging to the hope that’s found only in the Lord. When “everything” seems to fall apart around you, sometimes that all you can do is look to Him.

This song is like a chat with a friend, explaining what’s going on. Here’s what I asked God for, she sings, but the answer didn’t come like I thought it would. It was hard and it was ugly (or showed my ugly side), and I almost wanted to give up. There’s hope at the end, though. The reply of the Lord hints at the bigger picture. This is for your good. This is for My glory.

Read the lyrics as you listen. It’s an older style of English, not always easy to grasp. But, man, these lyrics really get to the heart of crushing kingdoms.

If you don’t have time to listen (but, really, make the time!), here are the lyrics. They’ll grab you and really make you think, if you’re paying attention.

I asked the Lord that I might grow
In faith, and love, and every grace;
Might more of His salvation know,
And seek, more earnestly, His face.

’Twas He who taught me thus to pray,
And He, I trust, has answered prayer!
But it has been in such a way,
As almost drove me to despair.

I hoped that in some favored hour,
At once He’d answer my request;
And, by His love’s constraining power,
Subdue my sins and give me rest.

Instead of this, He made me feel
The hidden evils of my heart;
And let the angry powers of hell
Assault my soul in every part.

Yea more, with His own hand He seemed
Intent to aggravate my woe;
Crossed all the fair designs I schemed,
Cast out my feelings, laid me low.

Lord, why is this, I trembling cried,
Wilt thou pursue thy worm to death?
“’Tis in this way, the Lord replied,
I answer prayer for grace and faith.

These inward trials I employ,
From self and pride to set thee free;
And break thy schemes of earthly joy,
That thou mayest seek thy all in Me.”

Hang on to that hope, Friend, when you’re in the middle of the crossed designs and the laying low. Do not despair. Keep praying for that day when you’re set free from self and pride and schemes for earthly joy. When you (we) can fully seek our all in the Lord God.Light inside the garden

 

Crushing your kingdoms, one of the #write31days blog series:

crushing your kingdoms

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

