Day 13: The Words of Others

So, almost immediately after posting last night on all the hard stuff going on and not really knowing what to do with that, I read Laurie Wallin’s post – When We Can’t Control Life (and why that’s a great thing):

Regardless, I get Job because his story is about when life knocks us on our rear end.When we think we know exactly what could or might happen. . . then it unfolds so differently that we scratch our heads and proclaim, “You’re either clueless, helpless, or heartless, God! What gives??!”…

Then today I read a fellow #write31days blogger, Airman 2 Mom, where she says,

Before I left for Afghanistan I remember being scared. I was uncertain I would survive the adventure I was about to embark on. I’m not sure if it was the fear of dying or just the fear of the unknown, but either way I was scared and unsure. The Sunday before I left for training in Indiana the church I attended sang “Take my life and let it be for Your Glory.” I broke down. All the fear and uncertainty I was feeling were poured into that song. I realized I was trying to control a situation I had no control over and I needed to trust in God. Knowing whatever happened it would be for His Glory. Not mine. I couldn’t do this alone. I needed to trust in God. The song was a theme that I focused on during the whole deployment and it is still written on my Facebook page. My life is his and I am here to glorify him…

While I’m sharing from others, there are two blogs that I’ve been enjoying regularly as part of the #write31days challenge.

Tales from a Southern Catholic Momma is really stretching herself and her readers by walking us through the days earlier this year when she severely battled against depression and everything that accompanied it. I’ve never had such a privileged window into the thoughts and feelings (good and bad) of someone with depression. It’s been enlightening and engrossing. I’m on the edge of my seat each day, waiting to hear where the story will go. It’s heartbreaking, but I feel it must have a happy resolution, since she’s being so brave about sharing her story.

The Hope Diaries – blogging under a pseudonym, Caiobhe is writing painful, healing posts of the hope she found/is finding after breaking off an adulterous affair. I think my favorite post so far is Please be my strength, where she says,

Today is about survival. It’s about staying and not running away. It’s about God given strength because there is none of my own. It’s about surrender to God’s love, and a giving up of my will and my plans. It’s about holding on to hope. I have no words.”

crushing your kingdoms

This is just one day in 31 days of posting about crushing kingdoms. Click above to read through all the posts written thus far.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Robyn

     /  October 15, 2014

    Great post! I love all of these words of others. What a great idea to share from the other 31 days blogs.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for connecting. Sounds like we’re kindred spirits in loving people right from the middle of our own deserts. And my family hails from MO, where you’ve landed. Blessings to you!

    Reply
    • Laurie, I’m honored that you read and commented here. Your posts have been very helpful to me over the past 9 months or so, although I’ve never commented before. Thanks.

      Reply
  3. This is beautiful, I love that you’re weaving together other posts! It brings this community together even more and feels a bit like I’m sitting in a living room with you all, which is just nothing short of amazing.

    Reply
    • What a great word picture! Connected by the internet, we can still sit in digital living rooms and chat. Thanks for sitting for a while.

      Reply
  4. I love that you are pointing to others in the 31 Day community. Thanks for sharing some of your favorites.

    Reply
  5. You are such a sweetheart! Thank you for your kind words about my blog! I want to apologize for not having really commented before on yours. I’ve been reading, but every time I get ready to comment, it’s like my kids *know* that I’m trying to string two thoughts together and they come at me with “Moooooom! Can you ?” or they’re trying to hang over my shoulder and look at what I’m looking at. This is why I do most of my writing after they’re in bed! LOL! God bless you!

    Reply
  6. I also love that you’re helping our blogging community – and I love your series title, too!

    Reply
  7. Thank you for sharing the other posts, loving your words. 🙂

    Reply
  8. I love your topic – crushing kingdoms. a big ole yes! I also loved how you linked to other 31 dayers. I will check out some of your other posts.

    Reply
  9. What a beautiful idea – to weave the thoughts of fellow writers into your 31 days. Great topic too! Thanks so much for giving to the community and sharing.
    Gratefully,
    Renee

    Reply
  10. Thanks for sharing..I had read one of those but not the other – definitely gonna check them out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 756 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

