Day 20: Though you ruin me

not_meaningless

My words fail me tonight. My thoughts are jumbled. My intentions for this post have blown away.

It seems that this has been a season of things being taken away. And some days I can trust in God and carry on, doing whatever needs to be done next.

Other days, much like today, I collapse into a puddle of tears.

And so, this is what I need to hear today. Perhaps you do, too.

Listen as Shane and Shane sing:

Though you slay me, yet I will praise you
Though you take from me, I will bless your name
Though you ruin me, still I will worship
Sing a song to the one who’s all I need.

Not only is all your affliction momentary; not only is all your affliction light in comparison to eternity and the glory there. But it is totally meaningful…don’t say it’s meaningless. It’s not. It’s working for you an eternal weight of glory. Therefore. Therefore, do not lose heart. — John Piper

UPDATE: Dear friends, I realized from some of the comments (thank you for commenting, BTW!) that perhaps a little clarification is in order. I am not despairing. When I wrote this, I was tired, discouraged and a bit worn thin, but I shared it all to say, yes, sometimes it does get difficult, but holding onto hope in Christ is the only way through. If you’re worn and barely holding on, I get it, but don’t let go of God. Don’t lose heart. Love to you all,
Janice

Part of the #write31days series:
crushing your kingdoms

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. This is my first time visiting you! I just saw your post pop up in my Facebook news feed and it caught my attention because I immediately recognized the quote! I love this song by Shane & Shane, and particularly this version because of John Piper’s words. A couple of weeks ago, I got to see them in concert and they sang this song. Just as beautiful and powerful live as the many times I’ve listened to it on youtube. Thanks for your honesty today. Be encouraged! Your teary day is light, momentary, and meaningful!

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous. The quote by John Piper gave me chills. Oh my goodness, I see why he has been called one of the greatest preachers in the world. Talk about being on fire for the Lord and not afraid to speak the truth. I pray I can be so on fire and not afraid to speak the truth of God’s holiness! Thank you for sharing this today.

    Reply
  3. That puddle of tears isn’t a lack of faith or trust, but part of the process. Grateful for you authentic voice.

    Reply
  4. sending love and encouragement your way. Some days life is hard, but God is there to hold you and help pick you up when you fall.

    Reply
  5. I’m sorry you’re in such a hard season. But I praise God for your attitude through it and your willingness to be vulnerable and share it. Thank you for sharing the music.

    “Though You slay me, yet will I praise you” has been a theme of mine for several years.

    Reply
  6. John Piper’s words in the video are so powerful (had me a bit misty eyes his conviction that “everything in your life is meaningful!” Amen and hallelujah!

    Reply
  7. Beautiful. I love this song and I understand the “season” you are in. I’ve been there. Have a blessed day!

    Reply
  8. Ethel Miller

     /  October 22, 2014

    Dear Janice, I will repeat –“do not lose heart” — what you are going through in a prolonged season is definitely hard on emotions. Don’t feel defeated if and when you cry — that is a safe reaction — a safe release of pent up emotions. Many are praying for you. Remind yourself that this too will pass. It’s ok to be human. Love you lots.

    Reply
    • As my friend, Mo has said, it’s sometimes good to both laugh and cry. I’m thankful that God has given us these release mechanisms.

      Reply
  9. Glad you are not despairing πŸ™‚ But yes, some days are hard. keep holding on to Hope

    Reply
  10. I give you the words of my Sister in Law when I was a new mom (and I think it applies to more than new moms), every time I showed up at church all worn thin she’d pat me on the back and say, “It gets better!” … now… some days it did, and some days it didn’t but OVERALL… it DID in the long run! πŸ™‚ Hope your day has turned around!

    Reply
  11. May God continue to help you through the thin places :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

