Day 26: Four kingdoms (root idols)

apple orchardHave you had a chance to think through those questions from the You are here post? I sat down and went through each one. Frankly, I wasn’t surprised at my answers, even though I didn’t really like them. They pretty much confirmed what I guessed.

These questions are digging at determining the sin underneath the sin that drives most of our sinful behavior and other idolatries in our lives. I’ve heard several pastors and authors teach that these boil down to four big ones:

Comfort
Approval
Control
Power

The Journey Church in St. Louis did a series that includes these: Transformation. The sermon, Loving People by Uprooting Idols, in particular hits on this. If you  want to spend some time learning more about crushing kingdoms, these are a great resource. I know my church has preached on this, but I couldn’t find the audio anywhere. 😦

So, here’s the deal:

If your answers pointed to lack of stress, freedom or privacy, where your greatest nightmares are stress and demands on you, then you most likely have a comfort idol.

If your answers  leaned toward finding affirmation, love or relationships and your greater fear is to be rejected, then you are dealing with an approval idol.

Do you fear uncertainty and worry a lot? Do you regard standards and self-discipline above all else? This is the idol of control.

Is success the name of the game? Is everything about winning or asserting your influence over others? Then you’re looking at a power idol.

fallen applesThis is deep, heavy stuff, if you take time to really look at your heart and where your affections lie. I’d encourage you to go back through the questions and take inventory in where you have rooted your time, attention, and heart.

Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting! – Psalm 139:23-24

Above all, spend time in prayer over this. Ask the Holy Spirit to guide your thoughts. These deeply rooted idols are not removed without God’s help. But, it begins with a willing spirit to see what lies between you and God. One way might be to spend time praying through Psalm 51, David’s cry of forgiveness to God.

~~~

We continue to work through the series, Crushing Your Kingdoms, this month, with only a handful of days left. Click below to view the index of all posts in this series.

crushing your kingdoms

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Wow, this is really convicting. When i think of idolizing comfort, I have a picture in my mind of luxurious settings, but your description of a comfort idol fit me perfectly. I do have to continually give those things to the Lord.

    Reply
  2. Wow, lots of food for thought in here. Going to print some of this out!!! xo

    Reply
  3. Cheryl

     /  October 27, 2014

    Ugh. I think I’m comfort…thanks for the link to the sermons. I love listening to (good) sermons on podcast, and Tim Keller doesn’t post often enough.

    Reply
    • That’s one blessing of living in the age we do. Even 10 years ago, it was hard to find sermons and content like this outside of your own church.

      Reply
  4. Interesting post. Thank you for sharing…and Missouri is the closest thing to home I have on this earth 🙂

    Reply
  5. I’ll have to pin this (I may have done it already) so that I can go back through and take the quiz. I’m pretty sure I’m being control by some type of idol :(–most likely the control one. Thank you for the resources!

    Reply
  6. What an interesting post. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  7. Oh interesting. I need to go back and reread the previous posts.

    Reply
  8. Just stumbling on your series and this is intriguing. Great post. I’ll have to check the rest of your series out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

