Day 27: Where your brokenness brings you

Part of crushing kingdoms includes brokenness, which is weighing heavily on me tonight. This song is several years old now, but between the lyrics and the visual picture in the video, it really hits home.

This is not about what you’ve done,
But what’s been done for you.
This is not about where you’ve been,
But where your brokenness brings you to
This is not about what you feel,
But what He felt to forgive you,
And what He felt to make you new.

And then there’s this lovely song by All Sons & Daughters

I am a sinner; if it’s not one thing it’s another
Caught up in words, tangled in lies
But you are a savior and you take brokenness aside and make it beautiful

We’re continuing the series – click the photo for the index of all posts:

crushing your kingdoms

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Thanks for this reminder! Yes, the songs are older, but sometimes you need to listen to them again and listen closely to their message…Hope you experience a beautiful restoration from all the broken pieces!

    Reply
  2. Hi Janice, Thank you for sharing your thoughtful post and these incredible songs. He does make the brokenness beautiful doesn’t He? I would share a song back with you “Nothing is Wasted” by Jason Gray. I’m sure you know it, but if not I hope you will look it up and let it speak to you. Blessings to you.

    Reply
    • I know it well, good song and fits perfectly. I’ll link it here, for anyone who doesn’t know it.

      The hurt that broke your heart
      And left you trembling in the dark
      Feeling lost and alone
      Will tell you hope’s a lie
      But what if every tear you cry
      Will seed the ground where joy will grow

      In the hands of our Redeemer
      Nothing is wasted

      Reply
  3. Thank you for sharing the beautiful songs. No one likes feeling broken–but in my brokenness God is able to come in and fix me because I’ve finally quit insisting that I can do it!

    Reply
  4. I am not familiar with the songs but thankfully I am familiar with the truth of what Jesus did to heal our brokenness. There is a song called my Jesus Fair which has this as its chorus:
    O love divine, O matchless grace-
    That God should die for men!
    With joyful grief I lift my praise,
    Abhorring all my sin,
    Adoring only Him.

    I’ve thought that “joyful grief” fits so perfectly – so glad that He did so, so sad that it cost so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

