Go where I send thee

It’s time for #fmfparty again. Five minutes to write on a word prompt. Last week it was welcome. This week, the word is send.train

And the first thing to hit my mind is the old children’s song:

Children, go where I send thee
Well, how shall I send thee?
I’m gonna send thee one by one
One for the little bitty Baby
Born of the Virgin Mary
Born, born, born in Bethlehem.

I’ll have to search youtube for the whole thing. It’s a little silly, especially when it gets stuck in your head. (Hey! I found a Hall & Oates version, who knew?)

Child, go where I send thee. And how shall I send thee?

train_graffitiWe have to be ready to go when/where God calls. And for some, like my friend, Eric Papp, or my sister’s friend, Sue Takamoto, it’s across the world. But for others, it may only be across the street.
Across the office.
Across the counter.
Where you are is where God is calling you in this moment.

Stop reading and look around you. This is where you have been sent. Is it a coffee shop? a bus? your living room? your cubicled office? a doctor’s waiting room?

Child, God is whispering for you to go where He sends you. It’s time. You are there. You have been sent. If you don’t know what comes next, pray to Him to show you who to reach out to, where to speak words of comfort, peace, healing, truth, and what to do next.

Go where I send thee.
I’m linking up with Five Minute Friday.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Across the street or across the office. To me, that’s just as scary as going across the world. Thankfully God gives us courage to obey!

    Reply
    • I get that totally! I think that’s why those words came to mind – because sometimes they can be intimidating places. Prayers for boldness!

      Reply
  2. enjoyed this…and sometimes its so hard to make those seemingly insignificant moments meaningful..when they are supposed to be…because they go by unnoticed…seemingly “unsent” good reminder.

    Reply
  3. I love this #fmfparty post. Great inspiration. I love how God takes those little moments, like even five minutes, and can turn it into an encouragement for others. Blessings on your day.

    Reply
    • So true. It’s crazy how the post writes itself sometimes. I didn’t even know that’s where I was headed, but it’s really stuck with me since.

      Reply
  4. I’m pretty sure that song will be stuck in my head all day now too! Ha! You’re right though. It’s a lot more about where God would send us than what we want to do. May that be our focus! Joining you from #fmfparty

    Reply
  5. I’ll have to look that song up. Thanks for such a great post! We were on the same track with our thoughts this week. Love it when that happens! It’s a joy to be following you at FMF! Blessings to you as you listen for God’s still, small voice as He sends you.

    Reply
  6. Ethel Miller

     /  January 16, 2015

    I found a new “send” — my neighbor who let me park my car all winter in her driveway when she was “back home” in MI. She is a widow now and needs transportation to doctors, hair appts, grocery stores, you name it. She is the only friend I have in this park where I live, and it is my ministry to help her as much as I can. Thanks Janice, for such a great post. I love how you think and express yourself.

    Reply
  7. Lovely encouragement here. To know that we don’t have to strive as much as just “be” where God has sent us…standing firm in that calling. Blessings…visiting from the snail mail FB page today. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

