Random sharing

This week’s Five Minute Friday prompt is “share.” The idea is that you’re supposed to take the prompt and write about it for 5 minutes. Raw, unedited thoughts put to pixels.

But I have nothing on “share,” so instead, I’m going to share five minutes of thoughts with you.

water from sky

My writing is sometimes paralyzed by looking at other writers. I see certain bloggers gaining followers, publishing a book, going to conferences. It’s hard sometimes. I dream of making it big or going viral. But realistically, I know that I’m not ready for that. I’m grateful that God is sovereign and I am not, because I would screw up so many things. I’m not ready for that the way that God has shown I’m not ready to be a mom. It’s not that it may never happen – it could – but that it’s not his plan for today.

With writing, which is the point of this exercise, I’m still hesitating. I’m still holding back. Not ready to share the full story within me. Still afraid of what others will think of me. Not willing to bare my soul and share the good, bad, and ugly. Especially the bad and ugly. Until I’m ready to be transparent, whether on this blog or with friends, until I’m ready to be vulnerable, my reach is limited. My impact is blunted.

I’m not sure where this is going or what you can get out of it by reading. Perhaps you can be equally challenged to see where you’re holding back and what you should let go of. Perhaps this is just one of those FMF posts that don’t really make a lot of sense to anyone but the writer.

At least we keep writing.

I’m linking up with Five Minute Friday.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Joining you from FMF. I love your post! I told my husband earlier….I’m just going to quit my job and be a writer! Oh, to be able to share words like that!

    Reply
  2. I struggle with bigger blogger envy and going viral fantasies too. It’s such a temptation to compare and find my own work to be wanting. However, I don’t believe baring all is necessarily the answer. So much of my story is made up of pieces that belong to someone else; I’m usually more worried about sharing information that isn’t mine to give than exposing too much of myself. I just try to write as well as I can with what I feel is fit for public consumption. If that means learming to be content with staying small, then so be it. Just write what feels right for you!

    Reply
  3. Visiting from FMF! I am like you where I am afraid to share my deepest thoughts. It’s hard to let out things sometimes in fear of what others will think of us. Keep on telling your stories and sharing on your blog. Writing is good for the heart. Blessings, Carrie

    Reply
  4. Barbie

     /  January 24, 2015

    So thankful I stopped by from the Five Minute Friday. In the six years I’ve been blogging, I’ve finally come to a place where I can share openly and honestly about my messy life and the burdens I bare. Not to bring others down, but in the hopes of helping others know they aren’t alone. It’s taken me a lot to be able to share so openly, but I finally feel as if I have a true ministry to encourage others through my own trials. Have a blessed weekend.

    Reply
  5. I get that feeling paralyzed by other writers. I’m working on that . . . believing that in a sea of many writers that my words matter too. And while I tend to be able to share the messy and the beautiful, there are areas where I hold back. I believe God will let us know when it’s time. He’s continually growing us, for that I am so grateful. Blessings to you, friend.

    Reply
  6. Ethel Miller

     /  January 24, 2015

    Thanks for writing — there is much therapy in writing, at least that is what I have found. I admire your openness and willingness to share your struggles with others. But think about this — those who have written books and become “known” — are they really as transparent as they seem to be? Is it sensationalism that sells? You have a ministry right where you are and you also have impacted some with your writing. Just keep doing what you’re doing because what you share is helping many others, including myself. I don’t think it is necessary to bare all” to have a ministry that edifies others. Love you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 753 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved

