everyday adventures are found in the little moments

My mom recently visited me for an extended period of time. While we had a few fun outings planned, most of our days were spent in mundane tasks: cleaning, grocery shopping, etc. One afternoon near the end of her visit, we were looking back on what we had done. I commented how we didn’t do much, just lots of little things. Mom’s response really stuck with me: life is lived in those little things.

The little things. Those small moments. It’s the little everyday adventures that seem unimportant at the time that fill our days. Life is lived in those little things.

We tend to remember the big events. Family vacations, Christmases, weddings and funerals. Those get the big press, family photos captured and moments preserved. But we often overlook the little moments that make up our days.

As we count our everyday adventures this month, we can keep in mind Psalms 90:12 where it says, “so teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.”

Pay attention as your day goes on. What kind of everyday adventures can you have this month?

bird-on-wire

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. ETHEL M MILLER

     /  October 30, 2016

    I didn’t remember reading this before — but I like what you did with my comment. Looking back what those days held for me, I really came home happy for being there with you and Tom — yeah, the cats too. I had lots of quiet that I needed, and just liked being part of your everyday life. Thanks so much for making me feel at home. Right now, it feels like a long time ago already. Love you.

    Reply
  1. The hunt for everyday adventures | Claygirlsings

Leave a comment

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other subscribers
  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved