Day 18: Even still

Do you know the old hymn, It Is Well? If you click that link you can read a very heartfelt reaction I had to that song a little over a year ago. I also share the story behind the song, written by a man who lost nearly everything.

This morning, as we sang the song again in church, I had a visceral reaction. The words that really hung me up are in a tag added by another band recently.

TreeThe words?
“Even still.”

It is well with my soul.
Even still, it is well with my soul.
Even still,  it is well.

Why “even still?” Because I sing the song with excuses. Do you ever find you do that? We internally might sing something like this:

It is well with my soul, but I hate my job, career, major.

It is well with my soul, but I don’t like my roommate, spouse, boyfriend, family.

It is well with my soul, but I wish I could live in a bigger/smaller apartment, house it in a bigger/smaller city, town.

It is well with my soul, but I don’t like my body, hair, ears, voice, feet, personality.

It is well with my soul, but I wish I was married, pregnant, single.

Even still.

The reminder is that, yes, this world we are in is flawed and imperfect and filled with people who sin (including ourselves). People may grievously wound us, intentionally or not. Yes, we may not be satisfied with our station in life. We may never attain that dream we’ve clung to our entire lives.

Even still.

With our souls it can be most well. Even still.


crushing your kingdoms

This is part of a series of 31 days of Crushing your Kingdoms. Click to read all posts in the series.

I’m also linking up with Testimony Tuesdays:

Holly Barrett
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. 🙋Hi Janice!
    Love This!! So glad you posted! 😉
    Yes, I know “It is Well” very Well! Your Even Still lyric list hit home and EnCouraged me!!
    Have a JOYfull Day!
    {💞BigHUGs} 💚Love Ya, Susie 🙂
    From Warrensburg MO! 😄

    Reply
  2. What a beautiful post! Thank you for the reminder that even though life may not be all about what we want, His plan for us is greater. So for that reason, it is well with my soul…even still.

    Reply
  3. I needed these words today. Even still. Today. Thank you.

    Reply
  4. This is one of my favorite hymns — not because it makes me feel good, but because it humbles me and reminds me of my sole reliance on Jesus. Thank you for sharing this.

    Reply
  5. Kathryn Shirey

     /  October 21, 2014

    Even still… no matter our circumstances, we are called to be content in God. Beautiful and humbling reminder.

    Reply
  6. How often do I put a qualifier on my soul being well! Thanks Janice for the reminder that no matter what is going on around me or within me, it can still be well with my soul. One of my favorite songs too! Thanks for linking up to Testimony Tuesday.

    Reply
  7. Barbie

     /  October 25, 2014

    I’ve been hit my my share of “even stills” the last week. And even still, it is well with my soul!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other subscribers
  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved